Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Prassorizo (Greek Leek Risotto) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Prassorizo (Greek Leek Risotto)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2006

      Yum! What a nice and simple rice dish. Like other posters have said, it took longer than a half hour for the broth to soak in (almost an hour), but the results were worth the wait. I used broth instead of water and I used a lot of olive oil; the finished product was very flavorful. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      5+ stars, awesome recipe! Leeks and dill are my favorites and a wonderful addition to this risotto. It did take a little longer than 30 minutes but we were very happy with the end result!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      A superbly delicious risotto! And so, so delightfully easy to make! I made this risotto nearly exactly to the recipe, using homemade chicken stock – though I did sneak in half a cup of white wine in step two – and therefore just four and a half cups of stock. I’ve always loved leeks and – having recently enjoyed them in Chef Kate’s Meatballs Simmered With Leeks (Keftedes Prassoselino) Meatballs Simmered With Leeks (Keftedes Prassoselino) – I’m so pleased to have found yet another recipe using them to such advantage. I also loved the dill and lemon in this recipe! Like Chef Kate, we enjoyed our risotto with evelyn’s recommended feta, kalamata olives, crusty bread and wine. Can’t really imagine eating it any other way! Thank you evelyn for such a fabulous recipe: it’s how I’ll be making risotto from now on! Sometimes, for a non-vegetarian variation, I’m going to add some pieces of chopped chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      What a clever cooking method. I did have to allow mine to rest a little more than the 30 minutes recommended for it to absorb the stock. While this risotto is good the addition of the feta and olives makes it fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Two votes of thanks here: First to you, Evelyn for this wonderfully simple recipe, and second to Chef Kate for speaking with her happy mouth full. My sister always has a goodly supply of "stock" in her freezer, so I used 1/2 stock and 1/2 boiled water; this worked really well. The risotto was superb; my nephew's girl friend is vegetarian, and she said it is the best risotto she has ever enjoyed...I concur. I must say, I really enjoyed listening to rave comments from happy diners. Excellent risotto, Evelyn, I shall repeat the recipe, very soon. Too bad we can register only one "Rate & Review".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Not only is this fabulous tasting--it is creamy, lovely risotto that is effortless--no gradual adding the liquid and no constant stirring. I ate it Greek fashion--as a main course with some olives and feta and good crusty bread--and a glass of wine, of course. An absolutely satisfying meal which I will look forward to making again. And this method of doing the risotto is simply brilliant. Thanks, Evelyn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I didn't find much flavor in this recipee. I really love risotto and was really looking forward to this, but it was very bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I really wanted to love this recipe- it was simple, cheap, and involved several of my favorite ingredients. However, it was not fully to my liking. I got tired of waiting for the liquid to be absorbed after about 45 minutes or so, at which point I tested the recipe as a kind of medium-thick soup. It was okay, but not very flavorful. I used 1 vegetable boullion cube per the 5 cups of water; I would recommend using 5 full cups of stock. I allowed the rice to rest further. At this point it still is not anywhere near fully absorbed, and it's a good 3 hours later. I will try this again using less water but it seems like it needs something else to flavor the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      OUTSTANDING INDEED!!! This was a very flavorful risotto which the entire family enjoyed, even kiddos asked for second helpings. It was an excellent side for our Pork Loin dinner! (((((THANKS EV!))))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Oooh, a definate 5 star recipe. And nice and easy to make too. Amazing 'creamy' texture. My only complaint is having to wait 30 minutes to eat this (hee hee).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      What a delicious risotto! I used chicken stock to make this, and I did find it needed to rest about 45 minutes, but that was ok, it was well worth the wait. Comfort food at it finest! Thanks for a well written, easy to follow and delicious recipe, this will be a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Prassorizo (Greek Leek Risotto)

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 415.8
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    47%
    Total Fat 22.1 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 53.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes