Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Roasted Greek Style Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Greek Style Chicken

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      Bergy, you're right, this is simplicity at it's best. Instead of roasting in the oven, I cooked this in my Showtime Rotisserie for an hour..."set it and forget it." Your suggestion to rub the cavity of the chicken with the marinade I believe really helped to infuse the flavors of the lemon and thyme into the bird. Next time I try this, and there will definately be a next time, I'll use my flavor injector needle to really get the marinade into the meat! You have a winner here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      Five out of Five people liked this recipe. I had to double the recipe because I roasted a six pound chicken. I also used my Showtime Rotisserie and injected the marinate right into the chicken. I served it with Spicy Potato Bumps posted by Dorothy Parks. Next time I will try your stuffing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      Mmmmmm! this was fantastic! So easy! Hubby loved it too! I made it just as posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      Mouth-watering roast chicken. I marinated for about 6 hours, basting every hour or so. I also did as some of the other reviewers suggested and lifted the skin up to get the marinade under the skin. The meat was so tender and the skin was just the right crispness. Thanks Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Wow! This reminds me of "Greek Fest" chicken we devour in the summer! I wish I had a rotisserie so that all sides could get nice and crispy. Next time I will start breast down and then flip it halfway through. Not only did I marinate the chicken in the olive oil and dried basil, but I tucked some fresh basil inside the cavity along with half a lemon (the other half I squeezed over the whole chicken). I also had some "Greek Seasoning" from Penzey's that I rubbed all over the chicken, too. The smell was like heaven. The final touch was to cube some red potatoes and roast alongside the chicken, basting often with the wonderful juices. I'm stuffed and craving more-YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2002

      This is an easy and tasty recipe. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken but I did spoon some of the liquid under the skin of the chicken and then dumped the rest all over it. The chicken was very juicy and my family loved it. I might substitute white wine for the lemon juice next time for a bit of a different flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      You sure do have a winner here Bergy!!! I marinated the bird overnight, in the frige of course. I made a double dose of the marinade and rubbed it inside and carefully lifted the skin on the breast and rubbed it under the skin and on the outside of the skin. Just before roasting i stuffed it with your Wild Rice & Pecan Stuffing for Poultry, "wild rice and Pecan stuffing for poultry", which I also made the night before. The stuffing went wonderfully well with the lemon marinade!!! The bird turned out lovely juicy and moist!! had to roast it longer because I used a 5 lb chicken. Best roast chicken I've had in years!! thanks for the best Bergy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      I let this marinate for 5 hours and used garlic salt instead of salt, I just sprinkled it all over the chicken before putting it in the rottiserie. The results were a super tender and tasty bird!!! Will make this again, thanks for sharing Bergy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      So simple but so good, I left mine for a bit longer than the hour for marinading due to work commitments. but the flavour was awesome and the smell when it was in the oven was amazing. I had a visitor while it was cooking and I thought I thought I was going to have to ask her to stay for dinner as she kept saying how good the aroma was and I can tell you the finished chicken was amazing true Greek flavour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2003

      This was very good and couldn't have been easier. The only change I will make in the future is to marinade it longer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Simply delicious! I marinaded the chicken and then cooked it on the rotisserie in my gas grill, over indirect heat. I left a 1/2 lemon inside the chicken and cut the other half lemon into halves and stuck them on each end of the chicken. Really good, intense, lemon flavor, which we loved. Thanks Bergy, great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      Fantastic and easy to make. Cut down oil by 1/2 and tripled recipe for a bigger crowd. Used cut up chicken pieces, legs and thighs with no skin. The aromas were heavenly, real barbeque scent. Kitchen got a bit smoky but it was worth it !!! None left over, it was a big hit !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      I used wings for this and added 2 cloves of crushed garlic to the marinade. I marinated it for 4 hours and then baked it. We really enjoyed the flavors of the lemon and thyme. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Delicious! Like others, I cooked this in the rotisserie for about an hour, and it was perfection. I marinaded for about 4 hours, and made sure to get the marinade in the cavity as well as rubbed under the chicken skin before cooking. I'll definitely make this again, whether on a whole chicken or to marinate chicken breasts before baking. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Yeah! I didn't marinate this. I just took the ingredients put them in the bottom of a pyrex. Laid down some chicken thighs to cover the bottom then put the same ingredients on top. Put the lid on the pyrex. Baked @ 300dgr till they smelled done. Took them out to let them cool down and finish cooking and they were half gone before dinner was served!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

    • on June 09, 2008

      Tonight I made this recipe for the second time and although I forgot to set the temp at 375 it was still awesome just not as crisp as the first time I made this dish. I did everything as noted and we loved it, a great week night easy to make dinner and its CHEAP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      The recipe gave great flavor to my bird. I increased the temp to 400 in the last 20 minutes to really crisp up the skin. I scattered fingerling potatoes around the bottom of the pan, drained the fat and letting them continue to roast for the time the chicken was resting. We enjoyed it very much. Leftovers will be used for sandwiches and wraps for lunch this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      I ended up having to make a few changes to this recipe. I had to buy chicken breasts (with skin and bone) as there weren't any good whole chickens available. And I couldn't marinade them as I ran out of time (I took too long deciding on a recipe). So I just spread the oil on the skin of the breast and then sprinkled the lemon juice and oregano over top. Then I proceeded with the recipe as directed. They still turned out tasting wonderful! Next time I will make sure that I leave enough time to marinade. I think that will make this recipe all that much more incredible! Thank you for a wonderful meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      Wow! Delicious and simple. The changes I would make: marinade for longer, next time I'm going to try at least 3 hours. And salt before serving. I couldn't get enough salt in the marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Greek Style Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 977.3
     
    Calories from Fat 704
    72%
    Total Fat 78.3 g
    120%
    Saturated Fat 18.4 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 255.1 mg
    85%
    Sodium 239.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 63.4 g
    126%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites