20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Bergy, you're right, this is simplicity at it's best. Instead of roasting in the oven, I cooked this in my Showtime Rotisserie for an hour..."set it and forget it." Your suggestion to rub the cavity of the chicken with the marinade I believe really helped to infuse the flavors of the lemon and thyme into the bird. Next time I try this, and there will definately be a next time, I'll use my flavor injector needle to really get the marinade into the meat! You have a winner here!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper September 23, 2002

Five out of Five people liked this recipe. I had to double the recipe because I roasted a six pound chicken. I also used my Showtime Rotisserie and injected the marinate right into the chicken. I served it with Spicy Potato Bumps posted by Dorothy Parks. Next time I will try your stuffing recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M October 20, 2002

Mmmmmm! this was fantastic! So easy! Hubby loved it too! I made it just as posted.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jckamen March 06, 2003

Mouth-watering roast chicken. I marinated for about 6 hours, basting every hour or so. I also did as some of the other reviewers suggested and lifted the skin up to get the marinade under the skin. The meat was so tender and the skin was just the right crispness. Thanks Bergy.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower November 29, 2002

Wow! This reminds me of "Greek Fest" chicken we devour in the summer! I wish I had a rotisserie so that all sides could get nice and crispy. Next time I will start breast down and then flip it halfway through. Not only did I marinate the chicken in the olive oil and dried basil, but I tucked some fresh basil inside the cavity along with half a lemon (the other half I squeezed over the whole chicken). I also had some "Greek Seasoning" from Penzey's that I rubbed all over the chicken, too. The smell was like heaven. The final touch was to cube some red potatoes and roast alongside the chicken, basting often with the wonderful juices. I'm stuffed and craving more-YUM!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinsplusonemom March 10, 2003

This is an easy and tasty recipe. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken but I did spoon some of the liquid under the skin of the chicken and then dumped the rest all over it. The chicken was very juicy and my family loved it. I might substitute white wine for the lemon juice next time for a bit of a different flavour.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLV November 17, 2002

You sure do have a winner here Bergy!!! I marinated the bird overnight, in the frige of course. I made a double dose of the marinade and rubbed it inside and carefully lifted the skin on the breast and rubbed it under the skin and on the outside of the skin. Just before roasting i stuffed it with your Wild Rice & Pecan Stuffing for Poultry, "wild rice and Pecan stuffing for poultry", which I also made the night before. The stuffing went wonderfully well with the lemon marinade!!! The bird turned out lovely juicy and moist!! had to roast it longer because I used a 5 lb chicken. Best roast chicken I've had in years!! thanks for the best Bergy!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf October 14, 2002

I let this marinate for 5 hours and used garlic salt instead of salt, I just sprinkled it all over the chicken before putting it in the rottiserie. The results were a super tender and tasty bird!!! Will make this again, thanks for sharing Bergy. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice September 07, 2010

So simple but so good, I left mine for a bit longer than the hour for marinading due to work commitments. but the flavour was awesome and the smell when it was in the oven was amazing. I had a visitor while it was cooking and I thought I thought I was going to have to ask her to stay for dinner as she kept saying how good the aroma was and I can tell you the finished chicken was amazing true Greek flavour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny September 05, 2010

This was very good and couldn't have been easier. The only change I will make in the future is to marinade it longer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skssandy August 12, 2003
Roasted Greek Style Chicken