Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Savoury Mediterranean Biscotti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Savoury Mediterranean Biscotti

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2003

      Crunchy and tasty, too! I followed the directions exactly, except I added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 'cause we do like things hot. These had a nice flavor, but I think I'll cut them a little thinner than 1/2" next time, as that should make them more tender to bite. Flavorings were good, not overpowering, but perhaps a little more oily than other biscottis I've eaten. I loved the idea of savory biscotti and will experiment with these. Evelyn, thanks for the recipe and good idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Loved this,will make again thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Excellent flavors. Served with dinner as a side. I must have cut mine a little thick since they didn't get real crispy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Love the flavors and smells. They all work wonderfully together. I have made this recipe a few times. The problem I have is that the dough seems too dry. I have tried adding a little more olive oil. It was still dry. I felt like I had to knead it to get it to stay together so I could get it on the tray. Are the ingredient amounts accurate? The taste is great but it crumbles a lot so the asthetics are not great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Very good! A nice change from our normal cheese and crackers. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      What a delightful change of pace! I made this to pair with a this-and-that tomato based soup and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it. It held up well to dunking like a good biscotti should and was quite pretty. It's simple to make and the house smelled fantastic while it was baking. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      YUM! I've been making a lot of biscotti lately and LOVED the idea of a savory one. The mediterranean flavors are great! I used all-dry tomatoes (from a bag, not in an oil jar). Other than chopping the tomatoes and olives, this is quick and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      OK everyone - I have to let all of you know that I am an Evelyn/Athens groupie! I have to say that nothing I have made so far from her recipes has been a disappointment. I made these biscotti with a huge greek salad, spanokopita, and Karythopita (walnut cake) - (all of my idol Evelyn's recipes of course!) to my cousins engagement party and the guests were practically attacking me for "my" recipes. I told them that they were not my recipes and told them how to get them. Evelyn - how did you become such a marvelous cook? I had gastric bypass surgery 8 months ago, but still eat these recipes (in small amounts). Not only are they "nectar of the Gods", but if you use the olive oil, drain the fried meats or cut the fat off of meats in other recipes, it won't make you gain weight. Evelyn, thank you again. I am so happy to be able to eat food that is not dull - I could not stand a consistent diet of grilled chicken or fish and salad (once in a while is ok). Food is definitely not boring with these wonderful Greek foods. If nobody else in the world appreciates Evelyn, I do - she has a real fan here!! Wendy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      This is delicious! I made it for the first time to take to a cocktail party, and I'll definitely make it again. I used a teaspoon of pepper instead of a half teaspoon, but otherewise followed the recipe. It wasn't difficult to make, except for chopping the olives and sun dried tomatoes. I used the very dry tomatoes and next time might use the ones in oil instead, as I had to cut them with kitchen shears and it took a long time. Otherwise, great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      Made this to accompany a french bistro dinner we had for friends in May or June. It was such a nice change to have crunchy biscotti instead of soft breadsticks or french bread with salads. This recipe packs a real punch in terms of flavor and texture. In fact, I used some of the bigger crumbs as croutons in my french market salad - they were excellent! I made this exactly as written, but I made them by hand, not using my Kitchen Aid...I think that was a mistake. This dough is very, very stiff, and I had problems in getting it to be a cohesive dough. Again, I think it was because I stirred and kneaded it by hand. Next time, I will most definitely use my stand mixer - I think it will make a huge difference. It's such a tasty, unusual dish, I'll be sure to make it again - the only thing I might add would be some chopped, toasted pine nuts...but maybe not. The recipe was really delicious as is - thanks, evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Savoury Mediterranean Biscotti

    Serving Size: 1 (585 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 731.6
     
    Calories from Fat 328
    44%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 146.0 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1238.3 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites