9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are lovely and soft and delicious. They also taste quite authentic, very much like the ones my mum would make. The only thing I would change is the egg wash - they look much better (all golden and brown) if you just brush them with egg only, rather than the egg and milk mixture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shniks April 13, 2012

These cookies are sweet and buttery and really easy to make! Ended up adding a little extra liquid to the dough because it was a bit too dry. Also, when it's time to shape the cookies, make sure the strands aren't too thick or else they will turn out a bit doughy. Love the addition of sesame seeds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May I Have That Recipe February 18, 2014

I love this cookie. My friend from greek use to make em for me. She also have vanilla in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiccaRune May 06, 2012

Good Job, being Greek I am a critic of Greek recipes but this reipe of this cookie is nice for all occasions. The OJ is perfect,this is actually an old greek secret for this cookie and not from the original recipe. REally livens up the cookie. I actually made 2 batches seperate 1. like the above recipe and 2 adding a little vanilla and cinnamin for the kids so when they say it amkes a lot of make A LOT of cookies. Great for sharing with friends on Holidays

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my2sun October 31, 2010

Makes about 10,000 cookies, not 25. My family loved these :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatSouthernBelle August 26, 2007

These were good, not overly sweet- A Greek version of Biscotti in my opinion as these amke good dippers in coffee or tea, but not a favorite for the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe April 07, 2007

**UPDATE** I have made these over and over again, this recipe as stated makes much more than 25 cookies as stated. I have gotten up to 60 cookies making average size braids (as you can tell by my pic) of approx. 3 inches which I find a suitable size. I have halved this recipe on occasions and gotten about 30 cookies with EXCELLENT RESULTS! Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iLuv2cook 2 February 15, 2007

Doing a bit of pantry cooking while assembling my holiday trays this year - using what's on hand rather than buying a whole new supply of ingredients. Trying to use sesame seeds when I came upon this recipe. I made a half batch of this and had nearly 3 dozen 2-3 inch cookies. The dough was a tad hard to work with as it it did break up a bit while rolling. You can't roll out a long rope on the counter and make a bunch. The dough needs the warmth of your hand, so they have to be shaped one at a time. In shaping, I used what may be a more Italian shape of taking a 5 inch rope, lightly folding it down the middle and giving the ends a small twist around. The final cookie is quite beautiful - be sure to give the cookies a really good wash. They are light in texture and flavor with a nutty crunch from the sesame seeds. A really nice counter to some of the sweeter cookies on most trays. On preparation, I would give these a 3 or 4 as it took almost an hour to make the ropes - a far cry from the time suggested. But the flavor is definitely 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni December 10, 2005

This is a Grat recipe. Every one will love it. It's not to dull but not to sweet either. I almost perfect. Except the preparation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly Sanchez April 13, 2001
Sesame Greek Easter Cookies (Koulourakia)