Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Soutzoukakia (Greek Meatballs in a Tomato Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soutzoukakia (Greek Meatballs in a Tomato Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2004

      I really liked the flavor the wine gave to the meat. It was delicious even though I forgot the cheese. For the sauce however, I used a few cans of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. I also added a little more cinnamon and simmered it uncovered for a longer time in order for the sauce to thicken. I served it over noodles with additional parmesano regianno cheese. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Very tasty! Family loved it. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      I made my meatballs using ground beef,parmesan and crushed tomatoes for the sause. Meatballs are very delicate and difficult to turn when frying ,they are easily fall apart. I made these meatballs in hope they would taste like the ones we had in Athens 2 weeks ago but they didn't. They were not bad but just did not taste autentically Greek.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      These are delicious! I served them first time around with oven fries and the leftovers were warmed up later in the week to serve over spaghetti. A very versatile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      I tried pan-frying them and had a lot of trouble with the meatballs sticking to the pan and falling apart when I tried to turn them. If I make these again, I will try baking them and see if that turns out better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Delicious and something different for a change!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      These are so good! The taste and aroma was exactly as I remember it from my daughter's mother-in-law's kitchen in Athens. Makes plenty for a second meal for us. I made them exactly as written with ground beef. Thanks Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Made this for my parents' visit. Absolutely gorgeous! After browning I baked in a tagine on a very low heat, with chickpeas and spinach. My parents have taken a copy of the recipe with them as they enjoyed it so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I made the meatballs in the oven instead of frying them. They were still good and a lot healthier for the dish. The sauce was just a bit too heavy for us but for the most part the guests I served this to, really liked this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      5 stars for the sauce - I used it to drizzle over rice that I served as a side for your souvlaki. I can get kefalograviera and/or mizithra cheese easily since I live in a Greek community, but I didn't go out today and just used parm to garnish, which was fine. Your Greek recipes rock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      EXCELLENT FLAVORFUL MEATBALLS cooked A La GREEK! Mine were a bit dense though as I was a bit LAZY and added Breadcrumbs. This is a KEEPER and I'll add to my everyday GREEK CUISINE (and I'll learn to follow directions, next time!) TWO THUMBS UP~ EV, you did it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2004

      Superb, tender, mildly flavored, melt-in-your-mouth meatballs. I LOVED these and their sauce. Only change I made was to use 1 T each of the olive and vegetable oils. We enjoyed it over whole wheat pasta. Ten star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2003

      Very good. The flavor of the meatballs was especially good - I really enjoyed the wine in this, as it permeates the taste of the meatballs. I found the amount of oil to be a bit more than I think was necessary. I cut down a little, but would use even less next time. The sauce was also good, but not as flavorful as I had expected. I would certainly make these again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soutzoukakia (Greek Meatballs in a Tomato Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.0
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    27%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 290.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lean meat

    kefalograviera cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites