13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked the flavor the wine gave to the meat. It was delicious even though I forgot the cheese. For the sauce however, I used a few cans of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. I also added a little more cinnamon and simmered it uncovered for a longer time in order for the sauce to thicken. I served it over noodles with additional parmesano regianno cheese. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna T February 15, 2004

Very tasty! Family loved it. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy D. February 26, 2014

I made my meatballs using ground beef,parmesan and crushed tomatoes for the sause. Meatballs are very delicate and difficult to turn when frying ,they are easily fall apart. I made these meatballs in hope they would taste like the ones we had in Athens 2 weeks ago but they didn't. They were not bad but just did not taste autentically Greek.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka September 17, 2011

These are delicious! I served them first time around with oven fries and the leftovers were warmed up later in the week to serve over spaghetti. A very versatile recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard April 30, 2011

I tried pan-frying them and had a lot of trouble with the meatballs sticking to the pan and falling apart when I tried to turn them. If I make these again, I will try baking them and see if that turns out better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neohippie September 29, 2010

Delicious and something different for a change!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyjacobs54 August 23, 2009

These are so good! The taste and aroma was exactly as I remember it from my daughter's mother-in-law's kitchen in Athens. Makes plenty for a second meal for us. I made them exactly as written with ground beef. Thanks Evelyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia April 27, 2008

Made this for my parents' visit. Absolutely gorgeous! After browning I baked in a tagine on a very low heat, with chickpeas and spinach. My parents have taken a copy of the recipe with them as they enjoyed it so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave March 02, 2008

I made the meatballs in the oven instead of frying them. They were still good and a lot healthier for the dish. The sauce was just a bit too heavy for us but for the most part the guests I served this to, really liked this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gelicious January 27, 2008

5 stars for the sauce - I used it to drizzle over rice that I served as a side for your souvlaki. I can get kefalograviera and/or mizithra cheese easily since I live in a Greek community, but I didn't go out today and just used parm to garnish, which was fine. Your Greek recipes rock!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL November 18, 2007
Soutzoukakia (Greek Meatballs in a Tomato Sauce)