69 Reviews

Works great on our indoor grill as well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
personnameds August 26, 2010

Just made this today, and, as expected, I didn't like the addition of Worcestershire sauce. It doesn't taste authentic to me. Two weeks ago a Greek colleague of my hubby's came over with a plate of pork souvlaki for grilling. She had told me what she used to make this in general terms--the same basic ingredients as in this recipe, but no Worcestershire sauce. I personally liked the taste much better. I'd make this again, but would omit the W sauce. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmmartine July 12, 2009

Great sandwich! I loved the flavor of the meat. I used pork cut into bite size chunks. I think next time (and yes, there will definitely be a next time) I think I will cut it into thin strips rather then into chunks simply because I think it will be easier to eat without the meat falling out of the end. I allowed for the long overnight marinade time and I used the Worcestershire sauce. I don't care for raw onions so I sliced a cucumber into thin slices and garnished the sandwich with them and some torn Romaine as well as the tomatoes the recipe calls for. I served it with your Tzatziki recipe. I made some French fries to go with it. It was a meal that I will enjoy again often. Thank you for posting this delightful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen From Colorado May 22, 2007

These where wonderful, I been trying to find a good Souvlaki recipe for a long time and I found some good ones but had a hard time matching what I thought was authentic Souvlaki but these where great. I used chicken and I used my oven's broiler (can't bbq on the 15th floor :( ) I will be making these fairly often. Can't wait to try them on the bbq in the spring (I go the park each weekend and cook on a little portable charcoal grill) Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Luma March 13, 2007

If you love garlic and fresh food you'll love this. The flavours all blend really well together and the marinade is so quick to make as well. Unfortunately we didn't have bbq weather, but I just used the grill on my oven and the meat still came out wonderful. I used your recipe for tzatziki and added some curly lettuce and feta cheese to the pita pockets as well. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- May 31, 2006

To Die For! I really can't add anything else that has not already been said! I did half the worcestershire-Loved the flavor. Since it's just the two of us we have leftovers, so it's "what's for lunch" today and we are thrilled! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's December 31, 2012

I added Worcestershire sauce and red wine vinegar because of a few other recipes stating it was a missed ingredient. It was absolutely stellar!!! I would give it 15 stars if I could!! I will probably cook this on a weekly basis!! Thank You soooo much for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TY@peace September 23, 2012

This was pretty good but not very flavorful after a 24 hour marinade. Traditional souvlaki has red wine so I think I'll try adding that instead of Worcestershire next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schooter September 21, 2012

I didn't leave stars because I made two major changes. One I used chicken breast cut into chunks and second, I used greek yogurt in place of the olive oil. It was so moist and flavorful, I'd highly recommend it for a variation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW December 28, 2011

Used this on pork tenderloin and I have to say that I've never had a more moist preparation. I made pitas but my husband and I noshed on the leftovers cold and they were still awesome. LOVE IT! I'm excited to try the maranade on steak this weekend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 January 14, 2011
Souvlaki