Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2010

      Works great on our indoor grill as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Just made this today, and, as expected, I didn't like the addition of Worcestershire sauce. It doesn't taste authentic to me. Two weeks ago a Greek colleague of my hubby's came over with a plate of pork souvlaki for grilling. She had told me what she used to make this in general terms--the same basic ingredients as in this recipe, but no Worcestershire sauce. I personally liked the taste much better. I'd make this again, but would omit the W sauce. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Great sandwich! I loved the flavor of the meat. I used pork cut into bite size chunks. I think next time (and yes, there will definitely be a next time) I think I will cut it into thin strips rather then into chunks simply because I think it will be easier to eat without the meat falling out of the end. I allowed for the long overnight marinade time and I used the Worcestershire sauce. I don't care for raw onions so I sliced a cucumber into thin slices and garnished the sandwich with them and some torn Romaine as well as the tomatoes the recipe calls for. I served it with your Tzatziki recipe. I made some French fries to go with it. It was a meal that I will enjoy again often. Thank you for posting this delightful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      These where wonderful, I been trying to find a good Souvlaki recipe for a long time and I found some good ones but had a hard time matching what I thought was authentic Souvlaki but these where great. I used chicken and I used my oven's broiler (can't bbq on the 15th floor :( ) I will be making these fairly often. Can't wait to try them on the bbq in the spring (I go the park each weekend and cook on a little portable charcoal grill) Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      If you love garlic and fresh food you'll love this. The flavours all blend really well together and the marinade is so quick to make as well. Unfortunately we didn't have bbq weather, but I just used the grill on my oven and the meat still came out wonderful. I used your recipe for tzatziki and added some curly lettuce and feta cheese to the pita pockets as well. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      To Die For! I really can't add anything else that has not already been said! I did half the worcestershire-Loved the flavor. Since it's just the two of us we have leftovers, so it's "what's for lunch" today and we are thrilled! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I added Worcestershire sauce and red wine vinegar because of a few other recipes stating it was a missed ingredient. It was absolutely stellar!!! I would give it 15 stars if I could!! I will probably cook this on a weekly basis!! Thank You soooo much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      This was pretty good but not very flavorful after a 24 hour marinade. Traditional souvlaki has red wine so I think I'll try adding that instead of Worcestershire next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      I didn't leave stars because I made two major changes. One I used chicken breast cut into chunks and second, I used greek yogurt in place of the olive oil. It was so moist and flavorful, I'd highly recommend it for a variation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Used this on pork tenderloin and I have to say that I've never had a more moist preparation. I made pitas but my husband and I noshed on the leftovers cold and they were still awesome. LOVE IT! I'm excited to try the maranade on steak this weekend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Very good recipe, it worked out perfectly. I, uh, sort of served a "deconstructed" souvlaki. I marinated pork shoulder chops for 24 hours, then served the fixings like a salad in a pita. It was really good. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Evelyn, Thank you so much for posting this! Our cooking group loved it, and I will make again just for our family. The 'construction' instructions were invaluable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Outstanding and perfect - Thank you for sharing! A new favourite in our household!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      I finally found the perfect Souvlaki recipe. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, 1/3 cup of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of Worchester. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This was by far THE BEST souvlaki we have ever had--and we know souvlaki. The guys can't wait to come down for me to make it again. Amazing! Thanks for posting this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This was delicious. I made it with cubed pork loin and let it sit overnight. The meat was so tender and flavorful. I went ahead and used about a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. I'm looking forward to trying this with other meat. Oh, and your tzatziki sauce went really well with this. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      very good, will make again. next time i will cut the meat a little smaller. I used pork tenderloin, very tender. I just bbq it and serve it with tzatziki sauce on the side, baked potato or rice and steamed veggie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This was great. I didn't make the tzatziki to go with this but next time I probably will. The pork was very tender and had great flavor, similar to gyros meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I marinated both beef & pork for about 10 hours. Was super easy and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Totally awesome...I can't wait for DH to make this again...this is company worthy! It was hard not to gobble this down...I forced myself to eat it slow and enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 811.7
     
    Calories from Fat 312
    38%
    Total Fat 34.7 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 110.6 mg
    36%
    Sodium 824.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 47.3 g
    94%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tzatziki

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes