11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I cut the recipe back by 1/2 and I used pork roast cut into cubes and let it marinate for a good 20 hours. I cooked the cubes on a hot pan to get them crispy souvlaki-style as opposed to placing them on skewers in the oven. I did not make the sauce for basting since I wasn't going to baste. The marinate left on the cubes after marinating was plenty for cooking. The flavour was just fantastic and I will for sure make this dish again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 28, 2013

This recipe is great. I used it with pork tenderloin that I cubed. I omitted the salt. It was great with tzatziki :) Thanks Breezermom :) Made for Photo tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 26, 2011

Awesome! I marinated it overnight and I will do it again!
Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde April 10, 2011

Really really good. I too cut down on the amount of oil. Made for ZWT6 for the Looney Spoon Phoodies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 June 13, 2010

When I first was mixing up the marinade I thought for sure it was not going to be very souvlakia tasting. Boy was I wrong. I did cut way back on the amount of oil. I used chicken and cut way back on the amount of oil. I sauted the meat after about 7 hours of marinade time. This received many OH's and YUMS at the dinner table. Definite keeper recipe. Made for Zaar Stars Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 August 23, 2009

very good, I oven-broiled the skewers as it is just too cold to grill outdoors yet, this is a little different to my recipe but it was delicious, I omitted the salt and sprinkled it on the lamb just before cooking, I only used 2 pounds of lamb so I reduced all ingredients to half but I increased the garlic to 4 cloves, we enjoyed this, thanks for sharing breezer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen March 06, 2009

I made this with lamb, marinated overnight (using merlot istead of Burgundy as it's what I generally have on hand; and I added rosemary and sage to the herbs) then threaded on skewers with button mushrooms and chunks of red pepper. The marinade was such a fabulous blend of flavours and made the lamb so wonderfully flavoursome and tender. We enjoyed these immensely with Kittencal's Cheesy Mashed Potato Puff Bake and salad greens and, as there were just two of us eating this, I was able to put several ready-to-cook skewers in the freezer. A recipe I'll definitely be making again for evening meals and for feeding a crowd! :) Thank you so much for sharing this yummy recipe, breezermom! Made for Gimme 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder February 24, 2009

Such an easy dish with good flavour.I used chicken,and like Diner used white instead of red wine.I marinated for about 7 hours,and the chicken was very tasty.I think that it would be much better with lamb and red wine though,which I fully intend to try. Thanks Breezermom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo February 06, 2009

We had this for dinner tonight. I used pork country style ribs and 2 chicken breasts. I marinated just under 6 hours. The flavors are awesome. DH said he can't wait to try them after a 24 hour marinade. Thanks for posting breezermom. We will be having this gain. Made for 123 Hits

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv January 26, 2009

I made this for dinner last night and took the liberaty to use chicken instead of the lamb, as stated in the description. Since I went with chicken, I used a dry white wine, as it was also what I had on hand. Otherwise followed ingredients as written. I only marinaded mine for about 3 hours, which worked out great flavor wise. I used chicken breast cutlets and just left them whole. I grilled them with a skewer of sliced onion and brushed the marinade throughout the cooking. I love souvlaki and this is a wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing Breezermom. Made for 123 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 27, 2008
Souvlakia