Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Spanakopita Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanakopita

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2003

      This was the most delicious spanokopitta I've ever tasted, and I've tasted alot. I was amazed how much the lemon juice and the dill brightened the flavor of the spinach mixture. My husband and I decided it's better than the spinach pita we get at the annual Greek Festival here in town. It really is! (But don't tell all the little old Greek ladies that make it, lol) My only problem was with the phyllo. I had a defective box. :0 All the sheets were split down the middle, and stuck together in the same spot. I had one heck of a time! But if you follow canarygirl's instuctions that s'kat mentions above, you can do it! Even with my phyllo a mess, I was able to patch up spots by brushing melted butter, and "glueing" on smaller pieces. And with all the mess that I made, it looked perfect out of the oven! It's all crackly after baking anyway, so mistakes just don't show. I will make this again, and I won't flip out if I have trouble with the phyllo, and anyone that wants to make this shouldn't, either. Great recipe cg-thanks! Oh! I only had a 9" springform pan, so it was not as tall as in the pic above, but still tasty--just bake for 25-30 minutes. canarygirl told me that when the phyllo is golden brown, it's done. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      I made the individual packets and the instructions and pictures from 'the class' were easy to follow. I was able to get 20 packets. I froze them and baked them later. My problem was that 3 of the 4 people having these found out that they don't like feta cheese (and I didn't use the entire amount listed) and therefore, didn't finish them. Luckily, the other person really liked them and got the remaining 15 packets to take home. For us, a different filling may work better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      Excellent! I found the flavor of this recipe to be so delicious and I even messed it up in 2 ways, well one was not really a mess up but I was out of black pepper so i used cayenne, and I forgot the lemon and it was still SO delicious, I am eating the last piece as i type this and I am going out to buy the things to make it again to share with people I work with as 2 days in a row I tortured them by taking it for lunchQ I found the recipe to be very easy and it was alot of fun and the taste mmmmmmm. Thanks cg great work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      I made these and they were terrific! The phyllo was light and flaky, and the mixture of spinach, feta, lemon and spices for the filling was OUTSTANDING. Phyllo can be scary, but canarygirl gives great tips in her cooking class thread. So all of your with phyllo phobias, give this one a try. I'm sure you'll love it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      These were great! I made them with canarygirl's help during her Spanakopitta class (http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=34753). The pictures made it a breeze. I made the individual packets, and found that phyllo isn't really as scary as one would think to work with. Sure, I had a few tears, but a little butter and some extra dough, and everything looked great. These are going into regular rotation. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      So yummy and very easy to make! Halved the recipe and used fresh baby spinach and it turned out perfect. Baked in two single jumbo muffin tins (not the pan with six muffin cups). Lined the two tins with four half pieces of phyllo after cutting entire phyllo package down the middle. Sprayed tin with olive oil spray, then sprayed each of the four half pieces after lining tin (let extra hang over sides). Filled to the top of tin with filling then just folded the extra over top and sprayed the entire thing and baked. After cooling, just popped the entire thing out and served with tzatziki on the side. A-mazing! Thank you canarygirl, this recipe is a definite keeper! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Awesome recipe!!! I made it in a casserole dish as shown in the photo and it worked great. I used nonstick spray in between the phyllo sheets and that was much quicker and so easy! My husband is Lebanese so I added 1/3 cup cooked rice and 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the mixture to make it a little more Middle Eastern versus Greek, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. This mixture would also be great in rolled grape or cabbage leaves. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This is an amazingly easy and delicious recipe and I love it - made it several times now and can't recommend it highly enough. I add a large handful of chopped coriander to it which tastes lovely. Thanks Canarygirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This was great and easy. I had never worked with phyllo dough before but it was easy and forgiving. I made 2 8x8 pans for an appetizer party. One thing I am glad I researched was to precut the slices before baking. It only took about 20 mins b/c mine were thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Perfect! I will use this incredible recipe for life. To me this was the best spanakopita I have ever eaten.Thank you so much Canarygirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      I hate I've neglected to review this recipe for so long! I've made it several times now, and it's wonderful. I (like starslight) make mine in a glass square dish (8 inch sides). For health reasons, I've swapped out the eggs for Egg Beaters a couple of times I've made it, and the recipe comes out great either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I live in Chicago and frequent Greektown for dinner weekly. You rocked this recipe!!!! My husband was so upset...he kept going back for little bites and knew that I was trying to make him fat with such awesome food! I am a star with freinds and family when I make this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Wonderful recipe! Delicious flavor with a light, crispy crust! I sprayed the phyllo with olive oil spray instead of brushing with butter, which saves time, hassle, and calories and still tastes great. Also, I used a 7 oz bag of fresh spinach instead of frozen, which wasn't quite enough spinach for my taste. And following the advice of a Greek friend, I added about 1/4 cup of cooked rice to the filling. I folded these into individual phyllo triangles, wrapped them in waxed paper, and froze them. They keep great and reheat wonderfully. Excellent with a cucumber-yogurt sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Wife and I really enjoyed this, two nights in a row, counting left-overs. Easy, once you master handling of philo pastry! Followed recipe exactly as written, but found end result just a tad dry for my taste-- maybe some kind of cream sauce on top next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      This was easy to do, good tasting and open to other design options. I made mine into individule sizes for lunches. Great in microwave. I might try shredding the feta next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This recipe is excellent! I've made it twice now in the "individual" version -- the first time with my teenage son while he was out of school last spring (who insists on calling it "spank-opita"), and the second time, I doubled the recipe. Froze very well, brushing lightly with butter before freezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I loved this, although the filling didn't make as much to make it look like the photo. I put mine in a square glass pan, it came up about halfway. It was still good. I would probably double the filling amount if you would want more. The taste was really good. I didn't put dill in mine as I didn't have it, I did use nutmeg though and everything tasted great. I messed up some with the phyllo, but honestly, you couldn't tell. I just patched it up with some phyllo pieces. I wouldn't worry too much about the phyllo though. Even with all the tears and holes, it still came out great and I couldn't tell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Made this a couple times, and it was a big hit. Probably the best I've ever had. Only changes I've made were to sautée the onions and brush the dough with olive oil and use fresh dill instead of the dried stuff. Also, I serve it with that Greek cucumber yogurt sauce that I can never spell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      This was amazing, a real hit at the dinner party we held. Thank you so much! I actually doubled the recipe and cooked it in 2 regular baking pans so there was enough for about 15 people. Also, I made it into about 4 layers, alternating 4-6 layers of phyllo and a thin layer of the spinach mixture b/t each. The doubled recipe took about 1hr 15min and it turned out fabulous! Thank you again. Note: DON'T FORGET TO BUY THE PHYLLO IN ADVANCE, IT TAKES A WHILE TO DEFROST!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      Scrumptious!!! I have wanted to try Spanakopita for years but was too afraid. With this recipe, it was simple and delicious. Even my four year old daughter loved it. I used a mini loaf pan that holds 8 individual rectangular servings. I decreased the baking time to about 38 minutes and they came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Cheese Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanakopita

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.5
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    59%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 132.3 mg
    44%
    Sodium 792.6 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites