Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2010

      excellent! the only thing I did different is melt butter in the olive oil when painting the filo sheets. it gives it a much better taste and texture in the end. thanks for a really great and easy recipe for Spanakopita! (Oh yes - I did use frozen spinach instead of fresh too - I let it thaw and squeeze the heck out of it to get all the water out before using)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Delicious! My boyfriend said this spanakopita took my cooking skills to a whole new level (I'm not the best cook :) The only baking pans I had were 8x8 so I thought I'd make two pies. It turned out fine but I like much more filling in spanakopita so I think next time I'll make the recipe as stated but use it to make one 8x8 pie. I also used less than half of the phyllo and thought it was plenty, just personal preference. I will also use frozen spinach next time as it took forever to clean all the dirt off and trim the fresh spinach. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      This was simply Amazing. I work in a Steel stamping plant where it's not unusual to be a bit nervous at times, but nothing like the apprehension I was about to experience in our kitchen. I'm going to make Spanakopita I asked myself? Like why? Why not phone for a pizza? Well, don't think I'll be ordering pizza for a while.

      This turned out perfect and although I've never worked with phyllo I have tucked my children into bed at night. Kinda the same thing I thought. Little bit of care and it workes itself out.

      Leeks are a nice touch, don't leave them out, and the dill sure adds a lovely flavor when combined with spinach.

      Thanks Evelyn, I'm no longer a phyllo virgin along with so many others here that tried this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This is THE BEST spanakopita!!!! I can't say enough about it. I have made this over and over. People that have never liked spanakopita before love mine. Thanks sooo much for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      This is AMAZING and simple... I pre-made the spinach mixture with out the feta, egg, and garlic. I refrigerated it over night. It was easy to assemble the next day! Would be great for an appetizer for a dinner party. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      Took this to a Greek-themed party and people raved! It was sitting behind a bakery version made in lovely, fancy swirls, and mine won the taste-test hands down!<br/>Since spinach isn't sold in lbs here, I guessed and bought two large plastic tubs of baby spinach. It, naturally, cooked way down, and felt a little shy, so I added a few minced kale leaves. <br/>I also couldn't find fresh dill in Ottawa in February, so used a couple of generous tablespoons of dried dill.<br/>Working with phyllo is always a bit of a patience lesson. I'm thinking next time of using an oil sprayer rather than brushing it on, in the interest of speed and keeping the bottom a touch less oily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Very good recipe. I added cottage cheese, 1/4 pound to enhance fluffiness of filling, and added mushrooms and quinoa to enhance nutritional content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      We enjoyed this, even my kiddos. I was leary about if they would and they devoured it. Thanks for introducing us all to a new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      This was really delicious and definitely a 5 star recipe, even though I very nearly ruined it. I put it in the oven and then realised I had left out the eggs. I then had to remove it from the oven, take the pastry off the top and mix the eggs into the filling and replace the pastry. I did wonder why it looked so dry but was tired after a busy day LOL. In spite of my huge error it was amazing and I am going to make it again soon for guests - next time I will give myself time to do it properly. I used a mixture of fetta, one Greek, the other goats fetta only because that is what I had but it was great. Thanks for a great recipe Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      First time making this, it turned out great even though I realized that I only had 2 eggs after I had already come and gone to the store it still worked. I used a rectangular pyrex and it actually was great to be able to see the bottom and avoid burning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      This was almost a disaster. I followed the recipe word for word up until the phyllo part, My phyllo was still frozen by the time I cooked the spinach, onions, etc. Oh no!.... I thawed out the phyllo in the microwave and lo and behold, they would not separate. A couple of hours into this project I was not going to give up. The hell with it, I placed the sheets (they were separated in two halves with a piece of cardboard) across the bottom of the 15 x 10 casserole dish. I put the spinach mixture on top and cooked as directed. Spanikopita pizza? Works for me. It was absolutely delicious. Oh by the way, I did add shrooms to the mix. Loved it. I will try it again as written, and thaw out the phyllo ahead of time. Thanks! Can I come over to your house for dinner?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      I love the flavor of this, and I love your tip Evelyn about not eating it piping hot, I know that in Greece this is eaten at room temperature often and it is sooo good that way! When you think of Spanikopita, I think of spinach, here I learned the other wonderful flavors that make it what it is, the dill and the onion; I used the 3 varieties as suggested! I loved this and I enjoyed making it, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      The directions for this dish were easy enough to follow. My spanakopita smelled and looked delicious. I didn't care for the flavor at all. It was my first experience with Greek food (aside from baklava) so maybe I was expecting something different? My husband thought it tasted okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

    • on July 11, 2010

    • on June 24, 2010

      yummy!!! had one portion for my breakfast already and can't wait to have another one for dinner :) thanks for shearing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      The latest ZWT adventure for the big round pizza pan that has also seen King Cake and Paella in previous tours. My first experience with phyllo dough, this was a must-do stop on the Greek part of the tour, and well worth the experience. Flavor-wise, a little heavy on the olive oil, but the whole effect together is, to say the least, culturally rich. Made for Zaar World Tour 6, on behalf of the Voracious Vagabonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      We like this a lot!! Husband did not expect to like it...but he did and went back for more. Very easy to prepare, great taste! made exactly as listed. Thank you for posting it! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Perfection plus! This is just the way it should be. Don't skimp on any ingredient or any step. It's super easy to put together, take your time, and wait for each step to happen. Lovely taste Ev, will be making this again from now on! Made for ZWT6 Zee Zesties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      A million thanks for this amazing recipe! I usually don't like spinach, or feta cheese, but Spanakopita was a special request from all the girls at my Greek-themed bachelorette party for my friend. I didn't have time to taste the final product, but when I tasted the spinach without the feta, I thought it tasted weird. But when the feta and egg was mixed in, magic happened! It was the first to finish at the buffet! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.0
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    58%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 380.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes