Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Spanakoryzo (Spinach and Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanakoryzo (Spinach and Rice)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2010

      Delicious! I tweaked the original recipe though. I used about 7 ounces of fresh spinach leaves, 1 big garlic clove (same as 2 normal size clove). In stead of 1/3 cup of oil, I used 2 tbsp oil and 2 tbsp butter (could probably reduce to 1 tbsp oil and 2 tbsp butter even). I dissolved 3 cubes of chicken bouillon in the 2 cups of hot water before adding it to the rice. Probably because my heat was too high, the rice absorbed all the liquid and was done before I supposed to add the spinach.I fixed this by adding 1/2 cup hot water with the spinach to the rice (I also added salt at this stage, not earlier. I added only 1/4 tsp because the chicken stock was salty enough). My rice was old so it can absorb more water without being too soggy.

      A lot can be done with this recipe and nothing will go wrong. I imagine adding some cooked meat, mushroom or even lemon zest for a change in flavor will be quite nice too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This is a great side dish. I should have use a bigger saucepan. I used a 3 QT and it was hard to combine all the spinach. There was something missing. I used chicken broth. Maybe some spices (oregano) would be great. Thanks Momaphet :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This is really good. I did add a clove of garlic as well. I used homemade chicken stock rather than just water which is something I would definitely recommend. I served this with Greek Lemon Chicken Kabobs With Mint Marinade. I can see this being good as a bed of rice for fish dishes too. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Fantastic flavor. Made with brown rice and it took an extra 20 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      What a great way to use up spinach that needs to be cooked already. I used brown rice and increased the liquid by a 1/4 cup and the cooking time by 15 minutes. I also cut down on the oil and added some pine nuts. This is a terrific side dish and will be made often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      We received lots of yummy fresh spinach from one of dh's work friends and his wife, so I went in search of a good recipe to use some of it. I knew I wanted something that would let spinach flavor shine through, and I didn't want to waste fresh spinach on anything like creamed spinach, since that would totally do the opposite. I thought of just sauteeing it, but I really wanted something new and different. This one jumped off the screen at me. Few ingredients, all things we had on hand, easy recipe, and fairly short cook-time. It was really good! I used brown rice, which added to the flavor perfectly. Of course, it doesn't fluff up as well as white, so that was a bummer. I'd still stick to the brown, though, just because I like the nutty flavor next to the spinach. Sauteeing the onion with the rice in the beginning gives them a little bit of a sweet, carmelized flavor. For the water, I used boiling water and just added chicken bouillion granules. I really don't think it would be as good with just the water. Next time, I want to cut down on the oil just a bit, though. It was just a little bit too oily for my taste (which was probably partially due to the bouillion, now that I think about it). The only real concern that I had was that the recipe doesn't state whether to use cooked or raw rice. I went with raw, since it had a couple simmering times built into it. The rice was fully cooked at the end, so that must have been right. I do want to try adding some mushrooms, because I just love spinach and mushrooms together. Overall, this is a winner with us. I plan on making this many, many times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I made this side dish because I didn't make it to the store yesterday and all I really had on hand was spinach and rice. I am soooo glad I hadn't gone shopping earlier because I wouldn't have never made it otherwise! This was soooooooo soooooooo good. I couldn't believe it! Will be making all the time now! Update: Made this rice again last night for my parents and they loved it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      A super-easy, super-delicious rice dish which would complement pretty well any meat dish. I did add 3 cloves of garlic to the onion (just love garlic) but otherwise made this exactly to the recipe - using baby spinach leaves - and look forward to having another serve for tomorrow's take-to-work lunch, served with Savory Chicken in Raspberry Cream Sauce. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Delicious! I did make just enough for the two of us and pressed into custard cups before serving ours. I used chicken broth to simmer the rice after the sauteing. Thanks momaphet for sharing! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders tag!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Made this for dinner last night and everyone raved about it, even a very picky 6 year old who like much. I made as directed except for a final step at the end I sprinkled with grated cheese and put the lid back on the pot to let it melt. Great flavor, easy to make, I used the suggested chicken broth and it gave it another dimension that we liked I did leave out the salt as the broth was salty enough. Sautéing the onions and rice together before cooking makes a big difference. I new and enjoyable side for our family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Great health recipe. This was a side dish for the bacon scallop recipe i made this afternoon. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      A terrific way for me to use up some leftover rice. A beautiful accent to our dinner. We'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      OMG This is an awesome receipe to dress up rice!! I used frozen spinach rinsed and drained. I also added some corn. Served with some meatballs and had a fantasic meal. Thank you so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      We really liked this dish - but then we love rice, chicken broth and spinach! Made as posted and yes it is a simple side that makes for a nice change from basic rice and one I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanakoryzo (Spinach and Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.5
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    45%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 967.3 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites