51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

wonderful brunch dish. i followed your advice and added the za'atar, and i added a drop of freshly grated nutmeg to the spinach and onions while cooking. this is a keeper!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia February 09, 2003

Fantastic! I served this with some grilled chicken and it was so delicious. I even made my own Za'atar (using your recipe) and added a teaspoon of that. I am trying to eat low carb so this was a great little dish to make and eat with a piece of chicken or fish.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland February 19, 2003

Delicious! Love the saltiness of the feta against the sweetness of caramelized onion. The shape didn't hold up well with mine, so we scoped with spoon. Toke me about 45min, but still slightly runny. I let it sit for a while in the oven after baking and it became less liquidy. Light and flavourful, sort of like quiche without the heavy crust.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight February 08, 2003

Now I understand why this recipe has five stars consistently. This is perfection. Slight substitutions of the addition of two cloves of roasted garlic, a mixture of feta and freshly grated imported Parmesan. Also, I threw in about 2/3 of a cup or so of some locally produced cottage cheese that was close to the pull date in my frig and used Greek oregano. I made sure to use the freshest ingredients of the highest quality because this recipe is only as good as the quality ingredients you put into it. Instead of cooking the pie in a 9" x13" pan I used an ovenproof pie dish. This would be the perfect dish to serve cold at a brunch-quick and easy. Thank you, Mirj! Mazol tov! * Next time I'm in a bigger city I'll have to pick up some more za'atar for this dish. CG

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 14, 2004

This was really terrific, Mirj. Just for fun, I added a pinch of cayenne and a pinch of nutmeg. I loved the onions and feta together--I did use fat free feta, which I realize is probably a sin, but I am trying really hard to cut back! Anyway, this will be a keeper recipe for us. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock December 31, 2003

This was awesome ... again! I can't believe I've forgotten to post a review until now! Today I tripled it and it was part of a dinner for close to 100 happy, well fed diners at our congregation. It goes together in a snap and makes the house smell heavenly. Great hot, warm or cold. Ooohhhh maybe stuffed in a pita for lunch too! Yum! Thank you, Mirj, for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B September 12, 2010

I doubled the recipe, using only 5 eggs, frozen spinach, and sauteed the onions a bit longer till they were browned. This was really delish! I used a 9x13 dish (for the doubled version). I love browsing through Mirj's recipes, but this was one of the first I've actually tried. I loved that I didn't have to worry about the filo dough. It wasn't greasy or heavy, and very satisfying!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
batya June 05, 2010

This was a wonderful casserole. The flavor is reminiscent of spanokopita filling, and the casserole actually tasted better on the second day. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe April 13, 2004

This was absolutely delicious. I used one package of frozen spinach thawed and squeezed dry and it turned out wonderful. I will definitely be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Star April 06, 2004

These flavors go exceptionally well together.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zesti_V April 05, 2004
Spinach Ricotta Pie with a Hint of Feta