Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Spinach Ricotta Pie with a Hint of Feta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Ricotta Pie with a Hint of Feta

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2003

      wonderful brunch dish. i followed your advice and added the za'atar, and i added a drop of freshly grated nutmeg to the spinach and onions while cooking. this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      Fantastic! I served this with some grilled chicken and it was so delicious. I even made my own Za'atar (using your recipe) and added a teaspoon of that. I am trying to eat low carb so this was a great little dish to make and eat with a piece of chicken or fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2003

      Delicious! Love the saltiness of the feta against the sweetness of caramelized onion. The shape didn't hold up well with mine, so we scoped with spoon. Toke me about 45min, but still slightly runny. I let it sit for a while in the oven after baking and it became less liquidy. Light and flavourful, sort of like quiche without the heavy crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Now I understand why this recipe has five stars consistently. This is perfection. Slight substitutions of the addition of two cloves of roasted garlic, a mixture of feta and freshly grated imported Parmesan. Also, I threw in about 2/3 of a cup or so of some locally produced cottage cheese that was close to the pull date in my frig and used Greek oregano. I made sure to use the freshest ingredients of the highest quality because this recipe is only as good as the quality ingredients you put into it. Instead of cooking the pie in a 9" x13" pan I used an ovenproof pie dish. This would be the perfect dish to serve cold at a brunch-quick and easy. Thank you, Mirj! Mazol tov! * Next time I'm in a bigger city I'll have to pick up some more za'atar for this dish. CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      This was really terrific, Mirj. Just for fun, I added a pinch of cayenne and a pinch of nutmeg. I loved the onions and feta together--I did use fat free feta, which I realize is probably a sin, but I am trying really hard to cut back! Anyway, this will be a keeper recipe for us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This was awesome ... again! I can't believe I've forgotten to post a review until now! Today I tripled it and it was part of a dinner for close to 100 happy, well fed diners at our congregation. It goes together in a snap and makes the house smell heavenly. Great hot, warm or cold. Ooohhhh maybe stuffed in a pita for lunch too! Yum! Thank you, Mirj, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I doubled the recipe, using only 5 eggs, frozen spinach, and sauteed the onions a bit longer till they were browned. This was really delish! I used a 9x13 dish (for the doubled version). I love browsing through Mirj's recipes, but this was one of the first I've actually tried. I loved that I didn't have to worry about the filo dough. It wasn't greasy or heavy, and very satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      This was a wonderful casserole. The flavor is reminiscent of spanokopita filling, and the casserole actually tasted better on the second day. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      This was absolutely delicious. I used one package of frozen spinach thawed and squeezed dry and it turned out wonderful. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      These flavors go exceptionally well together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      this is as good as everyone says it is. it made enough to guarantee leftovers the next day, but it was gone in a matter of minutes, it was that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      Mirj, this was really good! I added somes garlic to the sauteed onions and added some grated nutmeg to the spinach mixture. I served it with a brown and wild rice pillaf and a tomato and onion salad. My husband and three kids liked it. We give it 5 thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2003

      This is so incredibly good. I have never liked spinach but I can eat it in this. I cook up a pan and cut it into squares and have it in the fridge for those mornings when I don't have time to cook breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      a good kid friendly side dish, my picky toddler came back for seconds so it is a keeper. just a little different from others we tried so it keeps it interesting. I enjoyed the addition of za'atar

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was very good and simple to make. It was a little on the low taste side but nothing non fixable. I agree with a previous comment, it needs more feta. I used the amount listed in the recipe. My toddler loved it!!! Therefore, is a keeper. I made it a second time but this time I addded more feta, chicken, and lots of garlic. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This was good. I used fresh baby spinach and had it with a salad and baby potatoes. I think I would like it better with some fresh herbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      I made this for a co-worker's b-day. She does not care for sweets, so a savory pie was perfect for the occasion. Like another reviewer, I also added a crust made from crescent rolls (patted a layer in the bottom of my pan and baked at 350 for 5 minutes before adding the ingredients on top) I loved the consistency, it baked up up just perfect looking. I would absolutely add more Feta next time, it needed an extra punch of flavor. Thanks for helping me make a successful dish to share with my co-workers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Good, but a little bland for my tastes. Will use more feta next time, and think it might benefit from a dash of grated Parmesan or Romano cheese when I try this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      A wonderful balance of spinach and feta! I made a crust from crescent roll dough, reduced the oregano to about 1 tsp. and added Greek seasoning. It reheats very well in the microwave and makes a great lunch to take to work because it makes your coworkers so envious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Very good! I'm beginning to learn to like a vegetable my mom could never get me to eat. I baked it in a 7 1/2" round stoneware dish instead of the size recommended and, I guess because of the depth, I had to cook it probably another 15 min. I just waited until it was golden and it came out perfect! Both my DH and I loved it! Will make again. Thanks Mirj for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Ricotta Pie with a Hint of Feta

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.0
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    71%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 133.2 mg
    44%
    Sodium 351.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites