Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Tangy Greek Chicken Soup (Crock Pot or Not) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tangy Greek Chicken Soup (Crock Pot or Not)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2009

      What a delicious soup. I love broth soups. It cooked on low for about 6 hrs on low and it was well cooked in that time. It's flavor is on the acidic side but it's quite pleasant and a welcome change from the usual chicken soup. The artichoke is yumm but I did trim back on the vinegar by half. This soup and a toasted bun made a great Fall dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I loved this soup! My roomies thought it was too tangy, but I thought it was perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This soup is full of flavor! I especially enjoy the artichoke flavor in this. Very simple to make. I halved the recipe (for 2 servings) and wound up with plenty to spare! I simmered in a dutch oven for 2+ hrs. I used "better than boullion" for the broth, and distilled white vinegar. For personal taste, next time I'll cut down the amount of oregano. Thanks for another nice recipe Maito. ~Buddha

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This was so tangy and delicious! I used a whole can of drained artichoke hearts and skipped the coriander and the sugar, too. As for the rest of the spices, I just threw in whatever amounts seemed appropriate. And I had to use white balsamic vinegar, which I cut down to 1/4 cup since it is so strong. I will definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      grrrrr... YummY! Spiced it on the heavy side, and used chicken tenderloins. Other than that recipe went unchanged and was excellent! That touch of tangy-ness is exactly what chicken soup needs these days. Thanks Maito!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Just finished enjoying my soup for lunch and found myself tipping the thermos and scraping the sides in order to savor every morsel. The combination of the lemon, wine and vinegar (and the herbs) married into a tangy and rich base that showcased each of the soup components turning a "fix-it and forget it" preparation into an unforgettable meal. I made three smallish changes, none of which diminished the results: used bullion instead of broth and replaced the marinated artichokes with the plain canned variety. In both instances, my choice to use the higher amounts of the herbs ans spices along with 1 tablespoon of fresh chopped Greek oregano compensated nicely. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Very delicious soup. I loved the subtle sourness from the wine, vinegar and lemon. I didn't change a thing. I just didn't use skinless breasts, but used chicken parts instead, which probably made the broth richer. Thanks for such a nice soup Maito.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      We did not enjoy this soup at all. Individually the ingredients sounded good, but the vinager/acid was way to strong. I brought some for lunch thinking it might have mellowed out over night, but I still can't take more than a few bites. there is nothing subtle about the sourness of this soup. I followed the recipe exactly. I will not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This recipe was good but not even close to the one we get (and I crave constantly) at our local Greek restaurant. I wouldn't make again (being very particular about soups).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I LOVED this soup unfortunately my husband did not. I was out of coriander otherwise I used 1/4 t on each of the spices listed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tangy Greek Chicken Soup (Crock Pot or Not)

    Serving Size: 1 (752 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 560.4
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    33%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 45.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1133.2 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.7 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 13.2 g
    52%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes