12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

10 STARS!!!! I made it exactly as written except I cut the tempeh in thinner strips. Absolutely delish and we served this in a wrap with some lettuce, tomato and red bell pepper along with a sprinkling of feta. Loved every bite!!! The tempeh was crispy and super flavorful. And the sauce was out of this world. . .even the minute after I made it!!! Make sure you squeeze the moisture out of your grated cucumber. UPDATE: for the leftovers, I made this into a salad, using iceberg lettuce, some tomato, green onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, cucumber....all tossed in just a tiny bit of red wine vinaigrette and then topped with feta, the leftover tempeh, and topped with the tzatziki sauce. This was over the type wonderful....as good as a gyro salad at my favorite Greek restaurant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 25, 2013

I only made the tempeh. The texture worked well for a gyro. I didn't have onion powder, so I grated some onion. I thought the flavor of this was good, but too salty. If I make it again, I will use less salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nose May 15, 2011

This was a big hit...next time we make it we're going to double the recipe. Served with the yogurt sauce, this really does resemble a gyro (although, admittedly, it has been a while since I had the meat version). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie October 20, 2010

This was just okay for us - we only made the tempeh part of the recipe. For a sauce, I used a bit of the marinade with some garbanzos for a modified hummus recipe - that was really good. Glad I tried this but we probably won't make it again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie September 20, 2010

I made the tempeh part of this recipe only, as directed, with the exception of using slightly less oil for cooking, and marinated it for about four hours. We both enjoyed it served over whole wheat pasta with a bit of purchased tzatziki sauce (Costco). I planned to serve the leftovers as a cold salad the next day but preferred them heated slightly in the microwave. Very nice recipe and one which I will make again. Thank you Howiesar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judith.williamson September 10, 2009

I just made the gyro "meat," and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it, even the neighbor kid who only eats junk food. I think that next time I'll be making it without the cinnamon, though. It doesn't work well with the other savory flavors. Thanks for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cosima August 22, 2009

I'm so happy to find a new tempeh recipe. This is really good. I also used a bit of fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder in the sauce as others have mentioned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ranch-girl April 16, 2008

This. Was. To. Die. For! It was so much like the real thing, all I needed was the little foil wrapper around the end ;). I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fireangl921 October 14, 2007

We liked this a lot. it had too much garlic though. I used the recommendation of another reviewer and put in 6 garlic cloves instead of 1/2 cup garlic powder - that seemed to extreme to me. I also doubled the amount of tempeh but not the marinade like the others suggested. This was really good and I'd love to make it for a dinner party - b/c I want to be a show off! ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cUte Kitty pUnk August 31, 2007

We loved the gyro tempeh, but didn't like the tzatziki with garlic powder. So I made a version of the tzatziki with 6 cloves of fresh garlic (pressed through a garlic press) and no garlic or onion powder and we liked that version better. Thanks for a yummy and simple vegetarian dinner idea! The next time I made it, I used double the marinade with 2 8-oz packages of tempeh, which worked out great. I doubled the tzatziki too, which was more than enough; 1.5x would be perfect but is an awkward quantity of ingredients, so double tzatziki with leftovers for us. I didn't find it greasy, so I think the other reviewer must have used more than was called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Kozy January 10, 2007
Tempeh Gyros and Tzatziki