Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Tempeh Gyros and Tzatziki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tempeh Gyros and Tzatziki

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2013

      10 STARS!!!! I made it exactly as written except I cut the tempeh in thinner strips. Absolutely delish and we served this in a wrap with some lettuce, tomato and red bell pepper along with a sprinkling of feta. Loved every bite!!! The tempeh was crispy and super flavorful. And the sauce was out of this world. . .even the minute after I made it!!! Make sure you squeeze the moisture out of your grated cucumber. UPDATE: for the leftovers, I made this into a salad, using iceberg lettuce, some tomato, green onion, green bell pepper, red bell pepper, cucumber....all tossed in just a tiny bit of red wine vinaigrette and then topped with feta, the leftover tempeh, and topped with the tzatziki sauce. This was over the type wonderful....as good as a gyro salad at my favorite Greek restaurant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      I only made the tempeh. The texture worked well for a gyro. I didn't have onion powder, so I grated some onion. I thought the flavor of this was good, but too salty. If I make it again, I will use less salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This was a big hit...next time we make it we're going to double the recipe. Served with the yogurt sauce, this really does resemble a gyro (although, admittedly, it has been a while since I had the meat version). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      This was just okay for us - we only made the tempeh part of the recipe. For a sauce, I used a bit of the marinade with some garbanzos for a modified hummus recipe - that was really good. Glad I tried this but we probably won't make it again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I made the tempeh part of this recipe only, as directed, with the exception of using slightly less oil for cooking, and marinated it for about four hours. We both enjoyed it served over whole wheat pasta with a bit of purchased tzatziki sauce (Costco). I planned to serve the leftovers as a cold salad the next day but preferred them heated slightly in the microwave. Very nice recipe and one which I will make again. Thank you Howiesar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I just made the gyro "meat," and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it, even the neighbor kid who only eats junk food. I think that next time I'll be making it without the cinnamon, though. It doesn't work well with the other savory flavors. Thanks for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      I'm so happy to find a new tempeh recipe. This is really good. I also used a bit of fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder in the sauce as others have mentioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This. Was. To. Die. For! It was so much like the real thing, all I needed was the little foil wrapper around the end ;). I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      We liked this a lot. it had too much garlic though. I used the recommendation of another reviewer and put in 6 garlic cloves instead of 1/2 cup garlic powder - that seemed to extreme to me. I also doubled the amount of tempeh but not the marinade like the others suggested. This was really good and I'd love to make it for a dinner party - b/c I want to be a show off! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      We loved the gyro tempeh, but didn't like the tzatziki with garlic powder. So I made a version of the tzatziki with 6 cloves of fresh garlic (pressed through a garlic press) and no garlic or onion powder and we liked that version better. Thanks for a yummy and simple vegetarian dinner idea! The next time I made it, I used double the marinade with 2 8-oz packages of tempeh, which worked out great. I doubled the tzatziki too, which was more than enough; 1.5x would be perfect but is an awkward quantity of ingredients, so double tzatziki with leftovers for us. I didn't find it greasy, so I think the other reviewer must have used more than was called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Yum! I doubled the recipe but not the salt or oil in the tempeh marinade, to make it a little healthier. I also didn't add oil to my frying pan, but I did use a well-seasoned cast-iron pan. I didn't have onion powder or garlic powder, so used fresh, pressed both through my garlic press. I also didn't double the Tzatziki, because I didn't have enough cucumber. But I thought it was sufficient to eat with the gyros. However if you have leftover Tzatziki, you can always use it as salad dressing. (And toss the salad in your marinade bowl which will be lined with herbs and flavor.) Oh yes, I used only yogurt, no sour cream in the tzatziki.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      Wow- great flavor. Hubby was very impressed as he is a meat eater and generally finds non-meat subsitutes to be very bland. But the taste of the tempeh is out of this world. Very garlicky and not for those who are afraid of intense flavor. We both have garlic mouth today. Easy to make. Don't let the long list of ingredients fool you, most of the items many well stocked kitchens will probably have on hand. We made both the tempeh and sauce the night before. The tempeh was a bit on the greasy side, but that is probably my fault because I have a habit of not actually measuring out olive oil. Next time I wil be aware of how much I put in. Didn't know where to find Greek pita bread, so we just used regular whole wheat pita bread and did not cut it open. I have personally never had "real" Gyros (the meat kind) and have always felt a bit left out- but no longer. This is truly a great recipe. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tempeh Gyros and Tzatziki

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.9
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    53%
    Total Fat 26.5 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1223.9 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice vinegar

    Greek yogurt

    rice vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites