Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / The Traditional Cyprus Sandwich With Halloumi, Onions and Tomato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Traditional Cyprus Sandwich With Halloumi, Onions and Tomato

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2010

      Soooo good! Served it on home-made pita bread. Cooked the onions until they had a good caramelization on them. I always thought a good sandwich ALWAYS has mayo on it, but I've gotta say that the squeeze of lemon juice brought out all the goodness and freshness of all the ingredients. Another winner, Tartie! Made for KcK's Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      I wanted something quick and easy after a long day and this was perfect! Such a tasty sandwich. I fried the Halloumi in 1 tbsp oil, placed it on half a pita, sprinkled it with lemon juice, covered it with tomatoes and raw onions and fresh oregano. Folded the pita over and served it with a side of romaine lettuce and black olives, drizzled with lemon juice and olive oil.
      I will be making this many many times over..............

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Talk about bliss! I had this for my lunch today, sitting out on my deck. Not quite Cyprus...but I'll take the sandwich! This was a delicious combination of flavors and textures. The sauteed onions, oregano and tomatoes were wonderful atop the fried halloumi. Outstanding. Thank you! ~Made for Zee Zesties on the ZWT6~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Made this sandwich this weekend for a simple dinner on a hot day and it was great! Perfect for a summer meal with a light salad. Thanks for posting it. ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Made these sandwiches for dinner using pita bread. Simply great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I once tried fried halloumi before and loved it! For some reason, this time my halloumi didn't hold up quite as well. No doubt it was the brand, but I still loved the way this sandwich turned out and it browned very nicely. The oregano and lemon were lovely together. I used a half baguette for two serving. BF was full (I snuck him more cheese) but very satisfied. Thanks FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Now this was a wonderful sandwich. Made it as directed and its a keeper. Loved the onions with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      A great sandwich for when you don't have or don't want meat. I made as listed and agree that using the lemon gives that extra zing :) Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was a sensational sandwich. I made exactly as posted but I didn't have fresh oregano leaves so substituted basil. I wasn't sure about drizzling lemon on the halloumi but it was great that way, with the sweet onions and tomato, it had just the perfect balance of flavors. Will make this again many times over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Another winner from the French Tartlette. Wow, was this good. My new favorite sandwich. I love Halloumi. The combination of ingredients, makes this sandwich really special. I loved the crispy salty halloumi with the tart lemon and sweet onions and tomatoes mmmm. This is so wonderful. I can't wait to have it again today for my lunch. Many thanks dear FT for sharing this treat. Kudos....Kato

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Just as good as I remember them being on the island! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Made for Every day is a holiday tag. We had this for lunch on pita bread....WOW...love the halloumi! No camera FT...its on the blink and only God knows when it will be fixed or I can afford a new one. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This is a great little sandwich. We ate ours on hoagie rolls and just loved it. I was a little skeptical at first with the ingrediants, but not to worry it is wonderful. It did take two grocery store trips to find the haloumi cheese but no big deal. I hollowed out the hoagie rolls just a little to make room for the layers and left off the olives. Loved it! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Made for Family Picks ZWT4 – I love Halloumi cheese, and this sandwich is both easy and so flavourful that you think it would have taken half the day to make. As Always from your kitchen, great recipes, thanks for sharing French Tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      very good recipe unlike other cypriot recipes i have reviewed which don't sound cypriot at all. the hanging cheses are not halloumi actualy it's anari a whey cheese which comes after halloumi. halloumi is salted and embedded with mint and placed in brine for a little over a month. after that it's ready to be used, nowadays of one finds a good cheesemaker they store them in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Outstanding! I love Haloumi cheese. I used the variety that has the mint in the middle and was made the Cypriot traditional way. I kept to the recipe but I think I got the layering wrong, however this sandwich was so filling and very yummy, Thank you French Tart - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Traditional Cyprus Sandwich With Halloumi, Onions and Tomato

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.6
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    45%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 316.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    halloumi cheese

    fresh lemon

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites