Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / The Ultimate Greek Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Greek Salad

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2012

      The name of this recipe says it all as this is The Ultimate Greek Salad! This makes a nice large family salad that was enjoyed by all. I made one small change in that I cut the olive oil in half as my lettuce was still fairly moist from washing, other than that made as written. We thought the garlic and oregano were the perfectly proportion to the other ingredients and DH who quite often does not like the stronger flavored onions thought the soaking did a nice job taking the edge off. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      Excellent! Superb! I love this dressing and salad. I made as stated but increased the red wine vinegar to three tablespoons and added 1/2 teaspoon of sugar per other recipes I saw. Not too harsh and perfect for the salad. I used light feta in my version. If you are making a good sized salad it's a good idea to double the recipe so you have enough dressing. I'll use this recipe a lot, thanks for posting evelyn/athens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I could literally drink this salad dressing, it is so good. I did add about 1/2 teaspoon salt to it, and in the salad I used half baby spinach, and I substituted fresh mozzarella for the feta. I love feta, but had just run out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Yum! I love this type of salad, and this did not disappoint. The only thing I changed was the olives, I used garlic stuffed green instead of kalamata. Thanks for sharing! <br/><br/><br/>made for ZWT9

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Made the dressing only...This was absolutely heavenly. The entire family has voted this our new favorite salad dressing! The first time I made it I made it exactly as written and it was delicious. The second time I added grated parmesan (the canned stuff) and then it was a very close duplicate of Olive Garden's house dressing. My suggestsion...use the red wine vinegar, don't substitute for another kind. I think this "makes" this dressing! Thanks, evelyn/athens!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This was a hit at a dinner party I just had. I think my guests liked the salad more than the main course! Dressing is fantastic, I may make a batch just to use on any salad. I will say I used a garlic press to make sure the garlic was really teeny tiny in the dressing, b/c raw garlic scares me a bit. But it turned out fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      This was outstanding. We loved the dressing and the soaking of the onions. Served this with Pastitsio (Oamc) for a wonderful Greek dinner with my in-laws who did a tour of duty in Athens. I love greek salad and this will be my go to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      This was great. I did add a little sugar and salt, and it turned out really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

    • on February 16, 2014

      Great! The whole family loved it and I'll definitely make again. Soaking the red onion made a huge difference and I'm wondering why I never tried that before! Delicious fresh dressing, next time I'll double it so we have leftovers. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      GREAT salad! I LOVED the dressing... but will reduce the oil next time (we like ours very acidic). Also, will sub out the kalamata olives for regular black olives, both for price and preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      LOVE it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Excellent,easy,perfect work for me.thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      This is a great recipe for Greek Salad...perfect dressing. I added a litte salt, but that is personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Fabulous! (Then again, aren't all of evelyn/athens greek recipes just wonderful?) The dressing on this salad is just perfect, and it's one I keep handy most of the time... and one I am asked for the recipe for most often. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Thanks for this great recipe. Just the right proportions for everything, all ingredients balanced very well. This is the recipe I will be using for Greek salad from now on.
      Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      This was just what I was looking for. The only change I may make next time is to cut down on the garlic next time, as it was a little strong for my tastes. I will for sure be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      I enjoyed the fresh lemon juice in the dressing. I too added a little sugar to my tastte. Thanks! Made for the best of 2010 recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      The reviewers got me all hyped up but when it all comes down to it, this is just an average salad. It's good, but nothing to get your mouthwatering over. The dressing doesn't have much flavor. I'm thinking of adding in some juice from the olives. I do appreciate the salad recipe though. I like those ingredients in the salad, but really I don't understand the hype.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      This salad is great. I whizzed up the dressing in my blender. I used dried tomatoes instead of fresh and left out the lettuce and used extra cucumber (just because that's what I had... not because I'm anti-lettuce or anything). I let everything marinade for a few hours before serving it. The dried tomatoes soaked up the dressing quite nicely. I'm sure this dressing would be great on all sorts of vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Greek Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.2
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    78%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 16.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 353.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites