Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Tirokafteri (Greek Feta Dip) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tirokafteri (Greek Feta Dip)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2006

      I made a half-quantity of this delicious spread/dip and DH and I loved it! Used a hot banana pepper and a very creamy-mild feta (Dodonis Brand). Great meze!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      The taste is great but I would have liked it more spicy. I bought a red hot pepper. Next time I'll use 2. I find it too thick. It's hard to dip pita chips in it. I don't know if the feta could be the problem. Thanks Katia :) Made for PAC Spring 2010 http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=327498&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      I have never had a feta dip before. Very different and yummy. I used lemon juice instead of the vinegar Made for Pac Fall 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Easy and so good! We enjoyed this dip on veggies and crackers, and my roomie declared the flavor "fanstastic". I cut the recipe in half, since there are only three of us, but now I'm beginning to think I should have made more anyway. :) Using a good-quality feta cheese really adds to the finished product. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! Made for Boxing Day along with your spinach pie, something light and different from turkey! I was lucky enough to have some dried Cypriot rigoni left, for the true oregano taste of Greece! Made for Aussie/NZ recipe swap1 Merci Katia! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      I made this for Friday drinks at work. Everyone raved about it and I took home a completely empty bowl. I did it all in a food processor and that worked very well. Thanks katia! Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Aussie Swap #18: LOVED IT!! This is a delicious feta dip!! Perfect combination of spice and saltiness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      What a good and easy dip! And now, having made it (using Dodonis--good feta!) I can see many uses for it, though it disappears very quickly. Great on cucumber rounds. Thanks, Katia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      I also halved the recipe using a small sweet and hot pepper, which I didn't grill first. The consistency is more that of a spread than a dip, but I'm sure if you wanted to have it thinner you could just add a little yoghurt and maybe a bit more oil. Great to make roast vegetable sandwiches with as well. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This was great & so easy to fix! I made it exactly as written, but agree w/duck that it can be used as the basis for expanded versions. In fact, I served it w/sml dishes of black olives & sun-dried tomatoes on the side + Ciabatta bread I brushed w/my garlic flavoured olive oil. I’m glad I made the full recipe amt since I felt obligated to share w/Siggi. It was so good & I hope I got a good pic for you. Thx for posting, katia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      I've chosen this recipe to satisfy the oregano challenge in the Zaar World Tour 2. As Evelyn, I also halved the amount. The feta spread is really delicious and I think it is something you could play around with a bit. Why not adding olives another time instead or together with the hot pepper? or sundried tomatoes? or capres? Not that it really needs to be changed - I loved it as it is! I ate this with Thorsten's Crispy Beer Flat bread and both was a joy to eat! Thank you, Katia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tirokafteri (Greek Feta Dip)

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.8
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    79%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 44.5 mg
    14%
    Sodium 558.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes