12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not sure why there are so many raving reviews and only one other reviewer caught the fatal flaw to this dish: incorrect amount of milk. Google other tiropita (or any other Greek dish that requires a bechamel) recipes and you will notice that the ratio of flour to milk is off in this specific one. At the very least you need to use 1.5 cups of milk (at the most 2) to pull this off.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jitneyk April 15, 2013

I look forward to trying your version.

I make my version of this all the time which has a few variations to yours. I use feta cheese, cream cheese, and cottage cheese. There is nothing like delicious Greek food. I crave this all year long and tend to make it quite a few times per year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the_batke_family October 14, 2012

My BFs family is Greek, and last week we went to our towns Greek fest, but we're only able to go one day to work schedules. We were slightly bummed we only got to get Tiropita once, and it's one of their favorites! I found this recipe online, and made it this afternoon. It came out simple amazing, and even better then the one we bought for $4 a piece at the festival! I had to use more milk because my "sauce" was too thick, and I didn't have any parm cheese on hand, only romano. The romano cheese might of added a little bit more salt, but we loved it! I will definitely be making this for years to come, and probably for every holiday coming up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alyssa18o6 July 29, 2011

I have been craving Tiropita and this hit the spot. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doziem March 31, 2010

I'm planning to try it over the week! My mom has a very similar recipe, except she add semolina and feta instead of the other cheeses to cheese mixture to make the filling creamier and less fattening. I too will fold them into triangles, just for customary purposes. Overall really solid recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tribute_to_Erasmus January 09, 2010

This is sooo good. Definitely five star. My stepdaughter and I made it together for Easter.It was fun to put together and tasted so great. We used cottage cheese drained instead of ricotta and it turned out excellent. Thanks for a favorite recipe.!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beansy March 26, 2008

Simple and Tasty. I used kefalograviera, ricotta, feta, skim milk, and unsalted butter. I decided to use only 3 egg yolks with 6 egg whites to reduce some of the fat and cholesterol content. And since I love the butter and olive oil taste, I mixed the melted butter with olive oil to brush the phyllo sheets. The tiropita puffed up nicely while baking and did not appear as thin as what the picture shows.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elli2cook April 27, 2007

I made this for a brunch on the weekend and it was amazing. Everyone loved it very much. They all went back for another piece and there certainly was no left overs.. the only thing i changed was i added spinach to the cheese mixture as i love the flavour of spinach and ricotta together, it was exteremely delicious. This is a definate Keeper. Thanks for sharing. Helena

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helena76 March 05, 2006

This was really good. I didn't do it casserole style- I folded them up into serving-size triangles of 4 layers of phyllo (like the recipe for spanakopita triangles). I also added a dash of oregano for a little extra something. I baked the triangles at 375 for about 20 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSpike February 23, 2006

Absolutely to die for! My whole family loved this. It is VERY rich though so go easy on the slices. It would probably be best to serve small pieces as opposed to great big ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Kelly December 19, 2005
Tiropita (Greek Savoury Cheese Pie)