Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Tiropita (Greek Savoury Cheese Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tiropita (Greek Savoury Cheese Pie)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2013

      Not sure why there are so many raving reviews and only one other reviewer caught the fatal flaw to this dish: incorrect amount of milk. Google other tiropita (or any other Greek dish that requires a bechamel) recipes and you will notice that the ratio of flour to milk is off in this specific one. At the very least you need to use 1.5 cups of milk (at the most 2) to pull this off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I look forward to trying your version.

      I make my version of this all the time which has a few variations to yours. I use feta cheese, cream cheese, and cottage cheese. There is nothing like delicious Greek food. I crave this all year long and tend to make it quite a few times per year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      My BFs family is Greek, and last week we went to our towns Greek fest, but we're only able to go one day to work schedules. We were slightly bummed we only got to get Tiropita once, and it's one of their favorites! I found this recipe online, and made it this afternoon. It came out simple amazing, and even better then the one we bought for $4 a piece at the festival! I had to use more milk because my "sauce" was too thick, and I didn't have any parm cheese on hand, only romano. The romano cheese might of added a little bit more salt, but we loved it! I will definitely be making this for years to come, and probably for every holiday coming up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I have been craving Tiropita and this hit the spot. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I'm planning to try it over the week! My mom has a very similar recipe, except she add semolina and feta instead of the other cheeses to cheese mixture to make the filling creamier and less fattening. I too will fold them into triangles, just for customary purposes. Overall really solid recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      This is sooo good. Definitely five star. My stepdaughter and I made it together for Easter.It was fun to put together and tasted so great. We used cottage cheese drained instead of ricotta and it turned out excellent. Thanks for a favorite recipe.!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Simple and Tasty. I used kefalograviera, ricotta, feta, skim milk, and unsalted butter. I decided to use only 3 egg yolks with 6 egg whites to reduce some of the fat and cholesterol content. And since I love the butter and olive oil taste, I mixed the melted butter with olive oil to brush the phyllo sheets. The tiropita puffed up nicely while baking and did not appear as thin as what the picture shows.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      I made this for a brunch on the weekend and it was amazing. Everyone loved it very much. They all went back for another piece and there certainly was no left overs.. the only thing i changed was i added spinach to the cheese mixture as i love the flavour of spinach and ricotta together, it was exteremely delicious. This is a definate Keeper. Thanks for sharing. Helena

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      This was really good. I didn't do it casserole style- I folded them up into serving-size triangles of 4 layers of phyllo (like the recipe for spanakopita triangles). I also added a dash of oregano for a little extra something. I baked the triangles at 375 for about 20 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      Absolutely to die for! My whole family loved this. It is VERY rich though so go easy on the slices. It would probably be best to serve small pieces as opposed to great big ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      We like-y! Troy asked me to make this as part of his birthday dinner meal. It is really delicious -- even though I spaced the parmesan. He is a huge feta and phyllo fan, so this is a winner. I think this would be great as a bite-sized appetizer at a party, but we had larger servings as a plated first course. I didn't get the scoring step quite right, so I think I could use more instruction on that (are you supposed to cut all the way through or just the first layer)?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      I made this last week for Zaar tag, and I was sure I posted a review, but evidently not, anyway, it was really rich, very good, and I can imagine many variations, I served it as an appetizer, cut into 3" squares. Imagine some herbs, mushrooms etc...Divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tiropita (Greek Savoury Cheese Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 541.1
     
    Calories from Fat 358
    66%
    Total Fat 39.8 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 203.4 mg
    67%
    Sodium 887.2 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites