9 Reviews

This was a great recipe - I wish I was better at using phyllo dough! Even though I wasn't, this recipe was a big hit with me and the family. Like with regular pizza, we added other toppings: mushrooms, olives and peppers. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne Cooks May 30, 2009

Wasn't sure how this would turn out, seems too simple almost. But I tried it out after reading the reviews. My family absolutely loved it! My aunt wanted the recipe, so I had to email it to her. And it is soooo simple. I cooked it before I left the house so it was room temp when I got to my destination, but would probably be even better right out of the oven. Cut into triangle and it was a perfect appetizer. Thanks kittencal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimboleyanne December 23, 2011

This was good. I have not worked with phyllo before, so I am assuming that the fault was with me. Both I and my husband found it to be too greasy/buttery. Next time I will try olive oil spray or not buttering every layer. I sprinkle the top of the phyllo with Onion Onion and Italian seasoning. Topped with mozzarella cheese, diced tomatoes and onion ringlettes. My husband wants sausage on it next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzmollman May 29, 2010

This is delicious. I think next time I will use a few more sheet of dough. Also, I baked at 350 and it was done in 20 minutes, so be careful! I added black olives, yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth May 21, 2009

My family loved this recipe. I made it for an appetizer for our dinner party and it was a huge hit. I will make it again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplylaura August 30, 2008

What a great looking appetizer this was. I took it to a July 4th bbq and everyone wanted the recipe which I consider the best compliment you can get....will be making this often...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc July 05, 2007

My GOSH! This is absolutely fantastic!! I would give more than 5 stars for this one!! Yes, I made changes ... instead of using melted butter between the layers , to save fat and calories (so I could eat more LOL) I used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter , spray ... Personally I can't taste a difference in something like this .... I couldn't use fresh tomatoes , because I didn't have any ...so I used a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Other than that , I did the rest as specified. The ultra crispy flakey "crust" is wonderful .... I used the parmesan sparingly between the layers .... (personal preference) and holy cow .... Would you believe ... I made this TWICE in the last 12 hours??????? I can see this being made at our house ALOT!!!!! Phyllo pastry is my newest and most favorite discovery , and this is one great way to use it!!!!! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. July 30, 2006

Having so many 5 star recipes that it's getting like Groundhog Day here at Blakey Towers. Anyway this is another 5 star'er. I used cherry tomatoes (because that's what we had) and Mr B gave this 10 out of 5 for presentation alone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs B June 10, 2006

I first saw this on the epicurious website, and it is outstanding. It is easy to make but the combination of flavors is delicious. I cut it into triangles and served it as an appetizer, it looked very elegant and was a big hit. If you have never worked with phyllo before, don't be intimidated, it is easier than you might think. Give it a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matris9 January 20, 2006
Tomato Mozzarella Phyllo Crust Pizza