Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Tzatziki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tzatziki

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      I left out the tomato because I think it makes the product too watery after a while. Love this on pitas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Being Greek I know my TZATZIKI! :) This is one of the most authentic recipes I have tried! The only thing I did different was to add more garlic :))Thanks for the recipe Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      Great recipe. Only thing i changed was. I grated the Cucumbers and left overnight in cheescloth..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      I left out the tomatoes and added a bit of garlic. In order to make sure it didn't get too runny. I drained the yogurt in a paper towel lined sieve and salted the cukes and put them in a sieve, drained and then squeezed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      We really enjoyed this Tzatziki sauce. I used Greek Yogurt and did strain it in a coffee filter for a couple hours before mixing the sauce. Likewise I took the others' advice and did the same for the cucumbers/onions. Due to personal tastes we left out the tomatoes, and upped the garlic. I like the difference of the diced pieces opposed to pureeing it all together. We used this on greek burgers for a perfect combo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Great taste! Certainly rivals what I've tasted in Greek restaurants before. I used Greek yogurt, (a little thicker) and quadrupled the garlic, cause I love it ;-) and unfortunately didn't read the part about draining the yogurt first... I had used an immersion blender to mince all items up even further and ended up with a very liquidy Tzatziki sauce. Fortunately I read another's comments about straining thru a coffee filter and after about 30 minutes, I had the consistency I wanted. Next time I may experiment a little with “CarolAnne in Canada's� tip on lightly salting the cucumber/straining and omitting the other salt until I taste what I've got. Otherwise all worked out fine, and more importantly, all tasted fantastic! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      Perfect recipe! I didn't add the tomato and added more garlic. So, so good! We'll be making this lots this summer. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Wonderful recipe! Easy to make and great to eat. We tried a couple of modifications to suit our tastes. We left the tomatoes out. Then we split the recipe in half and made half with dill and substituted mint in the other half. Both were great. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I didn't use the tomato or the onion, but omgoodness this was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This was terrific! Made this to go with shish kabab Shish Kabab (Middle East, Palestine) and pita sandwhich, and ended up with extra kids to feed. So I cooked up some egg noodles to stretch out the meal, as an afterthought I mixed some in with the cooked noodles and it was very tasty. The next day I combined it with some leftover chickpeas for a quick lunch. A definite winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      This tzatziki is awesome, I will never buy store bought again! I have been making it for awhile now but hadn't posted a review until now. I use a red (Spanish) onion, leave out the tomato and put extra garlic in, I also find it is better to make it before time so the flavours have a chance to combine and mellow. I just made some to take to a NYE party to have with lamb kebabs, yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      So far, I haven't met tzatziki I didn't like, including this one. I skipped the onion, and tomatoes as a personal preference. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I cut the recipe way back since I only needed enough for two but this was really wonderful. I grated the onion, skipped the tomato. I also grated the English cucumber peel and all since there are almost no seeds and did the same as reviewer CarolAnne in Canada to get the excess water out. Used 1 small container of Greek yogurt which is already really thick so no draining necessary and the flavor is dead on for Tzatziki. Really a great recipe--don't have to try any others now:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

    • on August 16, 2009

    • on June 15, 2009

      Super easy and delicious! I made mine with a few extra shakes of dill and I used less salt than the recipe called for. I also left out the tomato, simply because I didn't have any in my kitchen. Amazing in a lamb and pita sandwich! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Shredded the cucumber & used Greek yogurt - what a delicious recipe! Served alongside red pepper hummus & used thinly sliced toasted rosemary bread slices for dipping. It was gobbled up 3 people - about a 1/4 cup left over. Will be making this again & again! Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Didn't use the tomatoes, up the garlic and used lemon juice for personal preference, excellent! I will be using this recipe at home until I find one that is as good as the restaurants!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Excellent Tzatziki recipe and I've had my fair share of them! Rather than straining the yogurt, I bought Greek yogurt (Fage) and it was already thick enough. I did not add the tomato since I've never seen it served that way and used lemon juice rather than vinegar. I increased the onion and added 4 cloves of minced garlic. DELICIOUS! We served this tonight with Ground Beef Gyros and it was the perfect combo. Will definitely use this recipe again!!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This is oustanding! I've already made it twice in 3 days. I followed the recipe with 2 exceptions - didn't mix in the tomatoes (served them on the side). And I only removed half the cucumber seeds, and grated half the cucumber (draining the cucumber is advised but not essential). We used it to dress chicken souvlaki sandwiches, pasta primavera, and tried it on savory rosemary pancakes this morning - totally wonderful. And healthy! I will be making this frequently the rest of the summer with cucumbers from the garden. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Savory Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tzatziki

    Serving Size: 1 (1305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.7
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    50%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 21.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 467.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites