75 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this recipe. Never thought about putting mint into tzatziki and will admit I was skeptical but now I will ALWAYS use mint. I also didn't use Greek yogurt just a thick balkan and I also didn't bother draining it through the cheese cloth. With regard to the cucumber I just grated it and squeezed it dry as best i could with my hands. Maybe it was runnier than authentic tzatziki but nobody seemed to mind and definitely a lot less work. So yummy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thecarmonas June 05, 2011

Soo good, i could just eat it alone with a spoon! I down sized it because i knew we wouldn't need that whole amount. I used 1 cup nonfat greek yogurt and threw in a heaping large spoonful of lowfat sour cream in also. i prob only used about 1/2 of a large seedless cuke, diced really finely. i still kept to the garlic amount with about 2 tsp. a few squeezes of lemon, some salt and pepper. Awesomeness. I regretted the small amount later. We eat it originally with greek kabobs but the next night we were fighting over the leftovers with some grilled pork. I made a chimichurri to go with the pork and my husband mixed that and the tzatziki and was drooling thru the meal. thanks..

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junkintrunk May 12, 2011

I scaled this recipe down to yield 2 cups because I only had one large cucumber. Came out fantastic! I was a bit hesitant about adding the mint (fresh from my garden), but after it sat about an hour in the fridge, it melded so nicely you would hardly know it was there, yet it imparted that certain delicious something. It was so good, I ate it as-is with a spoon. This will be my go-to recipe for tzatziki from now on. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz July 02, 2013

Wunnerful... Had to make a second batch because I practically "taste-tested" the first into oblivion (tough job, but somebody had to do it)!!! This is simply delightful, thanks Rita, for another yummy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori April 16, 2013

I have made this so many times I've lost count, but have failed to review it. Well, it is a 5 star all the way. I have made it as a dip, I have drained the yogurt so far to use as a spread, and I have barley drained it and added tomatoes for a refreshing salad. I always cut my cucumbers to a small dice (don't care for the texture of the grated), then let set salted to drain. So, so good. Thank you Rita for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraBlueEyes February 01, 2013

I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it according to the directions, but used dill in place of the mint because I did not have any mint. Next time, I'll remember to buy mint! Served it with grilled chicken kebobs and grilled pitas. So good! Will be making again. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E.A. September 10, 2012

This was excellent...or rather will be. I'm making it to put on french fries for supper tomorrow. A 'recipe' a co-worker told me about. Hopefully I will still have some left! I also used greek yogurt. So much easier!! And omitted the mint. I may add a little pepper to the top of the completed dish but right now I'm eating this with a spoon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strawberry_sunshine December 13, 2011

Yummy and easy. Served it with some thin sliced beef on naan bread with feta and tomatoes and made one of my favorites to go with it, " evelyn/athens Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)" and it made a great meal. Close to gyro without freaking out my gyro hating partner, and she loved it. Thanks for a great recipe,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evil Eva September 13, 2011

Awesome. I wouldn't change anything! I made this for a large family gathering and everyone one from the kids on up loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee August 05, 2011

Forgot to review this last year......FANTASTIC!! This is my "go to" tzatziki sauce. Used Greek yogurt and it was fabulous. Serve with my gyros every time. Thanks Rita!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PearTree May 11, 2011
Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce