75 Reviews

This was so yummy! I used it with falafel on a pita and it was the perfect condiment. Made for Veg 'n Swap tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo August 13, 2012

A helpful trick I learned at Opa in Halifax ( amazing food!) Try putting your grated cucumber in a napkin or clean t-towel and ring it out. The juice can be saved in the refrigerator for the mornings that you can get rid of those bags under your eyes...It works! great recipe. Don't be afraid to use sour cream ( the thick stuff) or greek yogurt. It's thicker and won't require as much olive oil. I didn't care for the mint but I have a few bones to pick with mint.I prefer dill weed. The fresher the better. Although I have made it with cilantro( Chinese parsley) also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefdianne January 13, 2012

Love this recipe! I just made it for the second time, and I can't wait to eat it again! I made it with Greek yogurt, just like some of the previous reviewers suggested. This made the Z sauce nice and thick and oh so yummy! My husband and I ate at a Greek restaurant a few nights ago, and both agreed this sauce was much better than the restaurant's sauce. Try it! You'll love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dogwood Tree July 14, 2011

Good, except that there's too much garlic. I love garlic, but this is too much even for me, considering that it's raw. I will probably just use one clove next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edesia March 12, 2011

Yummy! I cut this into thirds to serve with a special dish and it was wonderful. I used Greek yogurt and fresh mint from the garden. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff July 07, 2010

I cut this recipe in thirds, as I didn't need the full amount. I also used Greek yogurt, so was able to skip steps 1-3. The flavor of this was perfect- just tart enough from the yogurt and lemon, and just herbal enough from the fresh mint. I'll definitely be making this again! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH June 24, 2010

Hard to believe I haven't reviewed this in the past. I used Greek yogurt which eliminated the need for additional straining and fresh mint. The recipe was reduced to 1 cup and used to dress turkey wraps today at lunch. Made for enjoyed for *ZWT6*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 23, 2010

After a few adjustments this came out very well. I used about 11 oz of Greek yogurt, and one cucumber, 1 clove of garlic, the juice of half a small lemon, a drizzle of olive oil and 1/2 tsp dried mint. let it sit for a while and it was still to salty from the cukes that I rinsed twice! So I threw in 3T sour cream, 1 tsp red wine vinegar and 1/2 tsp dill. then I threw it all in the magic bullet and whirled it around a good bit. Served this alongside Very Greek Grilled Chicken and was really nice. I will have to make this next time I make my marinated lamb! Thanks RITA

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C June 16, 2010

I scaled this recipe down to 2 cups so that I would only need 1 cucumber. It was enjoyed by everyone at dinner last night both with raw veggies and on top of Chickpea Balls - Revithokeftedes. We did end up adding more garlic to taste, possibly necessary because of scaling the recipe down by 2/3's and I allowed the sauce to sit in the refrigerator for a day before serving. Made for ZWT6 SSaSSy's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 15, 2010
Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce