Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Vegan Seitan Gyro W/ Cucumber Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Seitan Gyro W/ Cucumber Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2011

      I thought these were great! The spice combination sounded a little strange but I love it! I'm not a big fan of vegan yogurt, so I used tofutti sour cream and tweaked the sauce slightly - added more lemon, and a little oregano and onion powder. But that's purely personal taste. This is a total keeper! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      I really enjoyed these and my non-veggie boyfriend seemed to think the same. However, next time I'm going to saut? the onions with the seitan for a bit better flavor. I also added oregano to the sauce and found it surprisingly tasty. This will definitely be made again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This recipe is what God invented seitan for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      This recipe was good, I especially enjoyed the spice combination. Unfortunately I have never been a big fan os seitan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      We all loved it... We used flat-out bread to make wraps.... And I didn't have dill so I used a little oregano and parsley in the cucumber sauce.... We will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was pretty good! I've been a vegetarian for years, but I can still remember how delicious gyros tasted. This doesn't taste too much like real gyros to me; I admit I was hoping for a miracle. But seitan does not lamb/beef make, and I am willing to take the taste compromise to avoid cruelty. And this dish does taste good on its own merit. Another bonus is how easy it was to make! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      My husband and I went vegan a year ago, and I spend a lot of trying to veganize his old favorites. When he mentioned gyros, I kinda panicked because I'd never had a non-vegan one, but your recipe made it super easy. So delicious! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I made this last night. It was very good. I felt like I could have cooked the Setain a bit longer though. I used the veganomicon Mediterranean cashew dip as my titziki sauce which is 1C. raw cashwes, 1t. salt, 11/2lb cucumber, 2t oregano, 1T olive oil & 3T lemon juice blend until creamy, makes a great gyro topper if you dn't have soy yogurt handy or just don't like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Thank you so much for this recipe, it's been a long time since I've had a gyro. Very yummy, and preschooler approved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Seitan Gyro W/ Cucumber Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 208.5
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    13%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 524.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    soy yogurt

    turbinado sugar

    seitan

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites