15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe blew me away! We are pretty new to vegan cooking. I thought there was no way this would compare to my regular tzatziki recipe. Wow, was I wrong! This is AWESOME!! I didn't have silken tofu~~only extra firm regular tofu. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a "T" and used it in pita bread with falafel and tomatoes. YUM!! Thanks SO much for sharing! I think I may cut down on the garlic just a tad next time, but otherwise it was PERFECT!!! This will become a staple in our house! :O)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins May 19, 2009

This is absolutely fantastic, honestly, no one would know it doesn't have dairy products in it. I would easily serve this to non vegan friends and I bet they love it! Very creamy, does not have a funny tofu-ish aftertaste or texture, just really very good-thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise J January 29, 2013

I just made this wonderful recipe and the taste of tofu was barely discernable. I would recommend going easy on the garlic, but apart from that it tastes like the real thing. Great to be served with lebanese bread...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolly28288 January 26, 2013

Great recipe!! Even the non-vegans (including a 7year old) preferred this to the regular tzatziki.<br/>Definitely prepare this the day before if you can. We used "soft" silken tofu as it was all we could find last time (it turned out great so don't worry if you need to substitute) After souvlaki night it was used on pretty much everything...even as a salad dressing! Stock up on gum and mouthwash and enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda S. February 04, 2015

Yayyy! This blew me away ! I am new to vegan cooking and as a huge tzatziki fan (can u blame me, I have a background that's almost Greek) I wanted to give this a go. I had no white vinegar so I skipped that step but even so it turned out great ! Awesome recipe ! Its a must try I think :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hands_up21 February 17, 2014

Absolutely fantastic! I only used 1 small clove of garlic (unless you like your food very garlicky) and subbed champagne vinegar for white wine as it is the one I have on hand. Thank you so much for this fabulous easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Chen December 21, 2013

I agree with the other reviews-this was a great recipe!!!! I will be using this recipe to make vegan gyros with seitan, onions and tomatoes. They were yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DINAPAYNE1 July 19, 2013

This recipe is easy and AMAZING!!! It has become a staple in our home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akbkat June 14, 2013

I can't believe how well this turned out. I suppose if I had one made from yogurt sitting next to me, I would be able to taste the difference, but without direct comparison, you'd never know it was soy. Like the real thing, it benefits from a couple of hours in the refrigerator. Once it sat, all soy taste was eliminated by the other flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serndpty March 31, 2012

Give this a try! It turned out so well, I'm really happy with it and will definitely make again. As another reviewer mentioned, it really does benefit from sitting. I made mine in the morning, kept the cukes straining seperately, pressing out as much water as I could. I combined about an hour prior to serving and served up about 3/4 of the batch, which was much enjoyed with our BBQ, in fact not a drop left in the bowl. The 1/4 that I saved as leftovers was even better the next day, it does seperate a little, but a quick stir and it's fine again. I used one large clove of russian garlic, which was plenty. I'd highly recommend making in advance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner September 05, 2011
Vegan Tzatziki