Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Vegetarian Pastitsio Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Pastitsio

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2009

      I love this! When in Greece I'll often have the meat version but it crossed my mind that it could easily become veggie and I sought out a veggie recipe. (I am a sucker for lentils). I swapped the aubergine (eggplant) for courgette (zucchini) one time when I was feeding a friend who can't abide aubergine. I use 3 or 4 medium sized onions, diced. I use 2x14oz tins of chopped tomatoes in their juice. I am also able to get spaghetti length macaroni tubes and feel this made for an authentic touch. A greek cypriot friend told me that you should straighten out the long macroni before you lay it in the dish (she doesn't, she admits, and she now uses penne pasta). I have to say that I don't agree with the comment about serving it very hot - it should really sit for at least 20 minutes before serving to have a hope of holding together in a taverna-like slab. Bear in mind, too, that in Greece food is never served very hot (it is considered to be bad for your health, I think). This dish gets even better served on the second day. I try to make sure I have some left to take for lunch to work or to freeze. Thanks for sharing. ps - I've now made this for the third time . . . a true definition of a recipe that is a real "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      I really liked this dish. It was filling, and although I was skeptical about adding cinnamon, it really tasted great in the end. Next time I'd definitely add more lentils and less pasta though- just a personal preference. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I love Anna Thomas! (Vegetarian Epicure author). Her recipes always turn out beautifully. If you are starting with dry lentils use 3/4 cup (per the cookbook) for the right quantity. Also be sure to under cook the macaroni, as this casserole bakes in the oven for an hour once assembled. I would only cook it 2-3 minutes next time (I did it 4 minutes this time). This recipe makes A LOT of food. It was spilling out of the 13 x 9" dish so I made two casseroles. Next time I will cut this in half. But it will definitely be made again. Thank you [Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      This is a delicious recipe, my husband is a reluctant vegetarian and I made this on a Monday and we feasted on it for days. I added some soy protein crumbles and recommend digging out little pockets for the custard. This is a wonderful meal for chilly winter days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      In honour of my son who just announced he is now a vegetarian, I decided to incorporate several meatless meals into my diet. I just finished eating this and oh boy, was it ever good! I made it exactly as written with only one change, I ran out of parmesan cheese for the final layer so I substituted a little motzerella. Two things that make this dish stand out for me is the cinnamon flavour and the custard part. Really gives it a nice texture. (I couldn't find brown lentils so I used green and not being familiar with lentils it seemed to turn out just fine)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Fantastically flavoursome! I followed TasteTester's advice and made this two days ago to share with friends for lunch today. None of us are vegetarian but we all agreed that this is arecipe that would appeal to vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. So a really useful recipe for when you are serving both! I was tired when I made this, so I followed the recipe exactly! And I'm so glad that I did as I woudn't want to change a thing when making this again. Except for doubling it so that there are more portions to put in the freezer. We enjoyed this with salad greens and crispy rolls and champagne. Thank you, Engrossed, for another superb recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Wow! This recipe is a winner. I made it the other day and even our non-vegetarian friends loved it. The lentils give it a sort of "meaty" taste and texture. I would suggest that if making this you prepare it ahead of time, because it does take quite a bit of time to prepare, but it's worth it. And this is one of those recipes that tastes even better the next day! (I had some leftover for lunch.) I tried using a 9x13-inch baking dish as stated, but it was overflowing the dish even before adding the custard. It fit perfectly into a 15x11/2-in dish however. I'm so glad I tried this recipe, Engrossed. It's terrific.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      Keeper! I didn't expect us to like this nearly as much as we did. I halved the recipe and it still would easily feed 6, I think. My only changes were to used a full cup of lentils for half the recipe and I used 1 t. of oregano and 1/2 t. of cinnamon, neither were overpowering. I had a friend pop in while it was baking and she couldn't get over how good the house smelled. I loved how little cheese was called for and the eggplant cooked down while baking and gave it<br/> a nice cheesy/creamy texture in a way. We didn't even notice the lentils, which wasn't a bad thing. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe, I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      Oh my! This is wonderful! I've never had the "meat" version, but I'm hooked on this version! I'm not a lentil fan, but absolutely love the combination of this recipe!<br/>Made as written, might add more seasoning the next time, as a personal choice. Thank you so much for sharing! Update-forgot to give it stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      We thought this was very good for a Vegetarian meal. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      Very Good. Add a 1/2 cup parmesean to the bechemal topping and it's perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

      i know it is bad form to review a recipe before you have eaten it, but i just have too. So far I am just at the sauce stage, and boy is it amazing. My fave recipes are always the ones that are a good base, so it can be altered as needed. My house smells divine. I used mace and garam masala instead of cinnamom. So delicious. The other great thing is that just by switching up the spices. I can make this mexican, italian, or just whatever. I am thinking of layering polenta and sauce. Either way. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      I so love this actually my whole family does, meat eaters and all. It is very time consuming and you really need to put this in a lasagna pan or make two pans like one review states. We ended up freezing some one time and it seemed to dry out but we topped with spaghetti sauce which helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I am not going to star this because my family does not like lentils much, so I am sure that influenced their opinion of this. So if you are making this, make sure your family likes them, or you will have a ton of it leftover like I do and will be forcing them to eat it for lunch for the next week. I didn't think it was too bad, and the flavors were good, but everyone else complained.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Pastitsio

    Serving Size: 1 (477 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 451.4
     
    Calories from Fat 196
    43%
    Total Fat 21.8 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 110.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 478.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes