Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Yemista (Greek Stuffed Tomatoes and Peppers) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yemista (Greek Stuffed Tomatoes and Peppers)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      Very very nice, I halved the recipe but not the liquid that you add and that turned out good, used only 1 tablespoon of rice per vegetable. It was enough for the size of the tomatoes and the peppers I used. Could not get the cheese you mentioned in the recipe and used grated Halloumi cheese. The raw rice was perfectly cooked by the time we had the dish. The only thing I added was some dried oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      FINALLY.. !! My grandmother used to make these and I have been searching the world for the recipe that would capture this uniquely "greek/turkish" taste.
      Well folks.. this is it !
      Evelyn shows deep understanding of greek cuisine in her quantity of olive oil (don't be alarmed..) and , especially her step 10. ( Leave an hour or two in the oven..) This is very important as it allows a kind of caramelization which is.. everything ! without this last step mine used to taste like a warm pepper salad mixed with rice !
      It has now become one of my family's favourites !

      Just a tiny detail.. since the rice is not pre-boiled, it will expand.. so don't stuff them all the way to the top or they will overspill..
      I also dribbled 1/2 tsp of olive oil on the mixture in each pepper after stuffing ( but then..I'm an olive-oil addict )

      GEIA SOU EVELYN.. EISAI ETHNIKOS THISAUROS !!
      ( Evelyn you are a national treasure !! )

      Dimitri

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Veggie Dornette #1 was home for the weekend and I thought I would surprise her with something besides lasagne (which she asks for each time she comes home). Peppers are plentiful in the market now, although it's not really tomato season. I did try this with 2 tomatoes, but I have to say that the recipe was 90% peppers. To make up for the missing tomato flesh I used some canned tomatoes, chopped up. Left out the mint, because I knew the kids would never touch it with mint (not very adventurous, my kids). I also left out the raisins, again, because the kids won't eat anything with "bugs" in it. Doubled up on the pine nuts instead, you can never have too many pine nuts (budget permitting). The only other change -- I didn't have (or even look for) mizithra or kefalograviera cheese, so I used a nice Cypriot haloumi instead. Ev, major yummy dish here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Oh My! These were the best stuffed peppers and tomatoes I have ever had in my life. This recipe is amazing. If you are thinking of trying this, think no longer, this is a winner. I have never been so happy with a recipe in my life. I love Greek food and this is Greek. Absolutely amazing! There should be a special category for recipes like this. 10 stars and more. Thank you so much for this dish. My family and I are still fighting for the leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      Great recipe. It's realy worth the time it takes to prepare. It's not the one I had in Santorini, but it's close.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2003

      These were very good the first day, although my husband wasn't crazy about them. I took a lefover pepper and a tomato as my lunch for work today, and BOY - this is the kind of dish that really improves after sitting a while! It was incredible! This would be a nice thing to make for a buffet dinner party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

    • on November 04, 2013

      Very tasty. I had to improvise a tiny bit with ingredients due to what I had on hand (and because I cut the peppers the way I typically do to remove the stem, oops!), but nothing serious. The only thing I'd change is to to possibly reduce the olive oil a little. I'll have to "sacrifice" myself for a few more experiments of this recipe to be sure. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

    • on August 27, 2012

      Outstanding! Made exactly as written, used shredded parmesan, and it turned out PERFECT!!! Evelyn, you are a gem for sharing this, everyone LOVED IT! I will make this again and again.

      Updated 08/27/12: I can not say enough great things about this recipe. You can not get results like this from a cookbook. Evelyn's instructions and measurements are like learning from your Greek yaya. I turn to this recipe again and again, and have made these probably 8 times - always perfect, always to rave reviews. Make them, you won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      My hubby made this recipe on Sunday night, so we could have an easy go-to dinner during the week. The only thing was it barely survived one day in the fridge--because we gobbled it all up on Monday evening! This smelled heavenly roasting in the oven and was just as pleasing to the eye. The flavor combination of herbs, spices, raisins and parmesan/romano cheese was perfect. We really enjoyed the texture the pine nuts contributed to the dish; although next time, I would lightly toast them before adding to the rice mixture. I was worried that the peppers and tomatoes would disintegrate being cooked for so long, but they held together very nicely. The rice was perfectly cooked and tender, and there was a good amount of "sauce" in the bottom of the pan to spoon over the peppers/tomatoes as they were served. We love Greek food but have never had anything like this. It was an amazing dish and certain to be a treasured addition to our recipe collection. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      This was so good! and easy! it seems like a lot of ingredients but I keep alot of it on hand already so its super quick to throw together, sometimes I sub half the rice for quinoa which is really good too, I still cook it for the same time and temp.
      Thanks it's one of my repeat favorites, healthy and vegetarian or vegan if you leave out the cheee:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      this was simple and delicious. perfect after a trip to the farmers' market. we will definitely be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This is a really good receipe and turns out great! just like i experienced when i was in Greece recently... I substitute dry white wine in place of water. Yum! I'm cooking it again today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      These were wonderful. I made one serving of this for just me and had used up my last tomato so used 2 roma tomatoes instead. I made this as directed except the only mizithra cheese I could find was grated. I added both pine nuts and almonds and loved the raisins in this combination too. Thanks evelyn/athens for a great treat. Made by an Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I agree these were even better the next day... thanks evelyn (^^)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      This is a wonderful, authentic recipe. My father in law, who is from Greece, loved it. I followed the recipe exactly as directed - DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      The very best. Great as an appie platter, which I did. I had 6 each tomatoes and peppers, used 1/2 cup olive oil, 18 tbsp rice, pine nuts, and asiago cheese. Classy, rich, earthy. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I couldn't find my grandpa's recipe and this one is almost like it. Fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This recipe looks and sounds absolutely delicious. Can,t wait to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yemista (Greek Stuffed Tomatoes and Peppers)

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 468.9
     
    Calories from Fat 360
    76%
    Total Fat 40.0 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 318.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mizithra cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites