Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Yummy Greek Spinach Pie (Spanakopita) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yummy Greek Spinach Pie (Spanakopita)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      This should be a 10 star recipe Heather! I made this to take on our boat this morning and by 1:00 there was none left! This was superb!! My mom, dad, dd, brothers, hubby and I all give this a 10 star!! Thanks, this is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

      Heather, this was a wonderful little pie. I served it for lunch and everyone thought it was great. Great flavors. I made it the way you do, and it was so easy and looked beautiful. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      This recipe is fantastic. Made it tonight. Added 1/4 tsp allspice and 2 Tbls fresh dill. DELISCIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      I didn't have parsley, but had fresh dill which I used in its place (many other recipes called for dill and I love it so I took a shot at it). Likewise, I didn't have ricotta, but had cottage cheese. After browsing other recipes and this, I improvised to make it as close to this recipe as possible (based on all the raving reviews). I was really impressed, I've heard so many horror stories with the use of phyllo dough, but this was very simple to put together and baked up nicely.
      I'm looking forward to making this again (with all of the directed ingredients). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      Made for Mother's Day dinner. Excellent! I ate three huge pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Just made this for dinner. Very easy to put together,,,,and really very good. I will definitely make again. Did not have spring onions, just used yellow onion, and just used 2 bags of spinach, 9 oz each, not the 2 lbs recipe called for. There was plenty of spinach. Can't wait for leftovers for lunch. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This was easy and tasty! I will be making it again for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Delicious!! I brought this to a bunco party and it was gobbled up and enjoyed by everyone! I, too, increased the ricotta to 1-1/2 cups and used 5 TBS butter to make a 9x13 batch. The only thing I found was that the prep time was longer than expected...I must be a slow chopper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Served this at a party we had and everyone LOVED it! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Really easy to prepare and totally yummy! I had a recipe for spinach pie for years that LOVED but I lost it :-( This one is just as good. I'm on my third time making it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      My neighbor had a Greek themed dinner party last night, and I brought this. This was very simple and easy to make and tasted wonderfun. I left out green onion because I forgot to buy it, but it seemed very flavorful without it. Definitely will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      awesome. my mom had to make it since i have an ingery. We both loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This was so good! It was my first time having spanakopita, and my first time working with phyllo dough. I had always been a bit intimidated by it, but its really quite easy! We baked this in a 9 inch round pan and got 8 servings. Very filling! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

    • on September 17, 2005

      This was my first spanakopita and i made it while on vacation at my SIL's who was recovering from a C-section with twins, so she really needed some home cooked food. Everyone loved it and it was gone quick! Thanks, I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      The recipe was very good but I made the following modifications to bake a 9 x 13 pie: more melted butter 1 1/2 c ricotta cheese Other modifications: Make sure to squeeze all of the excess liquid out of the spinach & I prefer using Myzitha cheese instead of feta....it's less salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      This really is yummy! I think phyllo dough is challenging...but it was worth it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yummy Greek Spinach Pie (Spanakopita)

    Serving Size: 1 (274 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.9
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    63%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 115.2 mg
    38%
    Sodium 504.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites